We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe the real chef had the day off?”

Maine Fish Market & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in East Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Maybe the real chef had the day off?”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My family went here to celebrate my mother's birthday..I'd been here before, and it was somewhat unremarkable. This visit, however, WAS remarkable. Remarkably bad. Most of us just rated the food "OK"..but honestly..it was not "OK".

Let's start with the soup. If you love Rhode Island Clam Chowder as much as I do, you wil be very disappointed. Vapid, flavorless mush of potatoes and celery, with broth and clams that contribute nothing. No briny flavor. No palatable sensation at all.

My entree was a special of the day, a seafood broil casserole. Hidden within dry, tasteless breadcrumbs were crab, shrimp and scallops. I felt as if I were sifting for my food through beach sand. What looked like real crab was bereft of its distinctively sweet character.

On the bright side, the cole slaw and french fries were very good. I just didn't want to pay that much for side dishes. When one can obtain a much tastier rendition at the '99' (and it is excelllent) then there's a problem!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterJJCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    125
    45
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We've Been "Hooked" for Years”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We should have reviewed on tripadvisor long ago since we've been eating here several times a week for years. Favorites include lobster roll (no mayo), raw or fried oysters, fried shrimp plain or done buffalo style, salmon (only place in New England we'll eat it), chicken wings and fried chicken (yes! it's the best around), king crab, and whole lobster...of course.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelinglawyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always a great place to eat.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I have never been disappointed with anything that I have had to eat here. Every time I fly in to Bradley International Airport I make sure that I stop here for at least one meal. This time I had the broiled seafood platter. This is a generous portion of haddock, shrimp and scallops all cooked to perfection. I can't wait to return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 20Sherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“omg-delicious”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

OK, Im impressed. The BEST stuffed shrimp Ive ever had. One of the best clam chowders that Ive ever had. This is out of the way for me, but I will be going there regularly! Not fancy, very comfortable, relaxed, but jeez the food is awesome!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HAND1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
189 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great main dishes; sides could use improvement”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our party of 3 enjoyed broiled swordfish, broiled haddock, and Alaska king crab legs: all excellent. That's the good news. Salads to start were uninspired: cut iceberg with a few extras. Potatoes, both fries and baked were adequate. Coleslaw was too sweet and runny, pasta salad bland. Not a green vegetable available. When we came in, the vegetable of the day was carrots, which were gone by the time we ordered, and brussel sprouts were the replacement. Still, the fish was great, the service friendly and attentive. Portions good, with smaller plates available (which are still large). Decor is dated. If you want great fish, the restaurant gets a very good. The rest is really just a little above average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HartfordOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Fish Market & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maine Fish Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing