We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ASIAN RESTAURANT THAT IS NOT A BUFFET”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jimmy Chen's

Jimmy Chen's
Ranked #8 of 40 Restaurants in East Windsor
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
East Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ASIAN RESTAURANT THAT IS NOT A BUFFET”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a nice quiet restaurant with great service. The food is fresh and tasty. The soups, thai food and steamed dishes are my favorites. The presentation of the dishes is very attractive. I enjoy eating here because of the relaxed atmosphere and quality of the food plus it is not overpriced but it is very reasonable. The restaurant is clean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b4uGo179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the Thai food too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

They do a great job with the Thai menu...which is hard to find in this area. If you like spicy food, you'll need to ask them to make it more spicy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelinglawyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My Advice: If In The Area This Is A Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

James Chen has the thing all great Chefs have, a natural ability to create outstanding cuisine and make it look effortless. This is not just "Chinese" but the "French Cuisine" of "Chinese". That being said, there is nothing simple about what James Chen creates. James is constantly working in his kitchen creating new dishes regularly and improving the dishes he already has on the menu. I have never experienced this kind of passion in a Chinese Restaurant. For starters I recommend his "Barbecue Wings"...no, no maybe the “Crab Rangoon’s” made on site...no no....I think the “Bone-In Spare Ribs”...I just can't decide. The sauces he uses are all his creations and you won’t find them anywhere else. For your main meal I don’t even know where to start. Let’s see maybe the “Grand Marnier Shrimp”...no, no maybe the “Surf and Turf” no, perhaps the “General's Trio (Chicken, Shrimp, Scallops)”, I can never seem to make up my mind. In addition to all this he is an accomplished Tai Chef with a full complementing menu. Personally, I have never had a mediocre meal and the staff is friendly and attentive. If you live in the area you are very lucky. If you are traveling through and eat here you will be looking forward to your next trip just so you can revisit this great dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJTCGranby_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dine in or Take out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We ate in, get soup, hot tea, chips and dip. Best chinese ive had in awhile. plus the servers were very friendly and the place is averagely priced.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Acholtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, PA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“great take out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Food was hot, fresh, good. Price was good too....Pu pu platter could have had a little more variety other than beef stick, chicken wings, chicken strip, cheese puff, and egg roll. How about a crab puff or wonton, or spring roll with a sparerib?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PADancergrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Chen's also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy Chen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing