We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing”

Rocky Neck State Park
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in East Lyme
Attraction details
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

It was great weather, will visit again. So beautiful! I think summer time is the best for visit, also beach so fantastic!. i've seen nice houses, water was little bit cold for me to swim, but some people done it :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Tatyana286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    53
    26
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hiking and walking”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

If you enjoy a nice outdoor environment, this is a great park. You can choose to stroll around on the level ground, lounge on the beach, or hike around on the rocks. It is beautiful here and people gather to share picnics and bbq often.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Park”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Really nice Park with descent beaches and picnic areas, located just few piles from down town, very nice

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HDDR311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great park, best one in the area”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting all the state parks in the area since moving to New Haven. Now, we've only been there in the off season so I don't know how they are in the summer, but so far Rocky Neck park has been the best. It has the nicest beach, good rocks for hiking around on, plus a forest to walk through. You can park off of 156 and walk several miles through the forest to the beach, or you can drive up and park next to the beach (we've done both).

Very relaxing place, loved it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Saudi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I love Rocky Neck- but it's just not the same...”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have been going there for years and in the past 5 it has gotten so over crowded... I used to sacrifice complete relaxation with the train that runs through incessantly, but lately it hasn't been worth it. Rocky Neck is great because it feels like you can walk a mile out and only be up to your knees... Go on an "off" time and you won't be sorry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Neck State Park also viewed

 

Been to Rocky Neck State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing