We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fourth at the beach”

Rocky Neck State Park
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in East Lyme
Attraction details
Vernon, Connecticut, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Fourth at the beach”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Camp annually at Rocky Neck State Park. Campground well maintained and campsites are quite large, most have some shade. Lovely beach. Great place for children - especially at low tide.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    53
    26
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

First time camping at Rocky Neck after camping at Hammonasset for 20 years. Maybe we're spoiled but Rocky Neck doesn't hold a candle to Hammonasset. The sites are tiny. It has an amphitheater like Hammonasset but it's run down and boarded up. The kids were looking forward to watching a movie outdoors. It was more wooded than Hammonasset which is good but had nothing else over it. No camp store. I asked one of the guys at the entrance if there was a place to buy ice in the park and he said no. Not only that but if we left the park we'd have to wait in a long line to get back in. We later found out that the concession stand at the beach sold ice so even information was sub par. Something else that blows my mind are the fees. Since we're out of state campers we pay more. CT. cries that they want to bring in tourism yet they charge more for folks that are out of state. We will not be back. there are too many options out there to camp in an average at best park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Pgonzalez4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Great Family Park”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Bicycling, hiking, walking, cross-country skiing, snow-shoeing are the activities we enjoy in Rocky Neck State Park. Many people use the excellent beach with its clean sand and ample parking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good beach”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We go to this beach. The water is nice. Beware of jellyfish though. The sand is nice. The beach is not that long. X rating 4.4

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnX269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springield, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family friendly beach with clean calm waters, & excellant facilities.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Rocky neck is a CT State Park with camping... But we go for the beach! We lOVE the atmosphere for our needs. We are a family of 6 kids range from teens to toddlers so we need a beach to meet these needs. This beach is clean, the waves are minimal so the toddlers are comfortable & our teens can wander out further. Their are lifegaurds as well. There is an extensive beach to walk as well as a rock peninsula to trek. Parking costs $20 (a little much) but it is a reasonable walk to the beach, it includes use of picnic tables & grills (bring your own charcoal). The fee also includes use of the facilities, bathrooms with shower & changing rooms, all within a 2-5 walk depending on your beach location. There is also a snack bar serving hot food too with an indoor seating area. Chairs, tents, blankets, coolers (food & non-alcoholic beverages) are all permissible on the beach. No big floats or balls allowed in the water but kids/toddlers can wear floatation devices (although they really won't need them). The only downfall is the commuter train that passes along the tracks which cuts across the top of the beach area (definitely NOT a safety issue) it is more of a noise issue but to be honest it doesn't really bother me much. Its a great family beach!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Neck State Park also viewed

 

Been to Rocky Neck State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing