We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Experience”
Review of Aces High RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Lyme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aces High RV Park
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We just got back from a camping weekend at Aces High Campground in East Lyme. I have to say that my experience was more positive than the other reviews listed. The campground is an RV campground and does not allow tents. We have a pop-up camper so I contacted the campground to make sure that the pop-up fit their definition of an RV. They were gracious in their reply and said that they always welcome pop-ups. We had a site overlooking the pond. Everything was well-manicured. I liked that they are fairly strict about how the sites are kept up because I much prefer that to campgrounds where people have planted gardens, brought in storage sheds, and, in general have lots of clutter. This campground is pristine. Location is good with easy access to stores and beach. The campground has a beautiful pool, a swimming beach on the pond, an attractive playground for children, and allows fishing. The campground store was fairly well-stocked. We got a day pass for the town beach in Niantic after leaving a deposit which was returned by the end of the day. I found the other campers staying at the campground to be friendly. We had absolutely no hassles and would definitely go back some day. Rated a four due to the sites being somewhat expensive.

Room Tip: It was nice having a site facing the pond, but I think the sites off the pond are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacationplannerCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 65 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

The campground is boring. They had a pool build but by the time we could use it, it already started getting cold outside. Its a nice pool and all but i would rather see the sites be fixed up more, like have new fireplaces installed!!!!! The lawn service does not do a good job, they only go around the objects and not under such as, they do not weed-wack under the sewer hoses. Some of the staff seemed nice, there was a red haired kid who seem to know what he was doing, when he saw us outside he always stopped what he was doing to make sure he said hi and to see if we were enjoying our trip. We felt bad for him because he was always working on something until the time he left and when he cleaned the back-house bathroom, it was always cleaner. The events they have are also just ok. Its nice to hang with the other campers and listen to music but when we went to get the food they where serving, they give small amounts. I was kind of annoyed because we were paying for the food so why not have a good amount. It seemed they where trying to save the food for themselves and i hope they weren't because i paid money for 2 tickets. We don't really come back to this campground anymore because, its changed since Kathy took charge. Aces High is also expensive, they charge more money for nothing. Even though they have big sites which is nice and all, there was still problems such as some sites where not level. The BIGGEST problem i have with this campground is that the staff was extremely pompous. Even the owner was extremely rude when i talked to her. They also allow some of the campers to break the rules which is wrong. Everyone should follow the same rules or no rules at all. When people ask about this park i tell them to keep driving because it is not worth the time and money they spend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AnnoyedCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny D, Manager at Aces High RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Park and apologize for the extremely late response as we now have "new management' that are concerned with past reviews. I am a little confused as it is listed as "stayed June" with the pool being cold and the posting was in September. You are indeed correct about the barbecue, the tickets were forced on campers and purchase was required in order to camp on holiday weekends, food was limited and this holiday event no longer exists. There are more updates to come and on the top of the list, "all customers will be treated courteously and with respect. There are 6 sites in the overflow area that have a slight grade that 2 boards or hydraulic jacks would fix. hope you will try our park again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I have to start by saying the place is clean and nice, but the owner or the manager who runs the place should learn more about how to give service and make you feel comfortable.
They were not welcoming althuogh we paid a nice amount compared to otehr places in the area.
I am also coming from the hospitality field and I am sure that they have a lot to learn !!!

Room Tip: next to the lake or to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 249MiriL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mapreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: vicino al lago
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vittorio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mario T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aces High RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aces High RV Park

Address: 301 Chesterfield Rd, East Lyme, CT 06333-1003
Location: United States > Connecticut > East Lyme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in East Lyme
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing