We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Seafood Awesome location”

Sandpiper Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in East Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood Awesome location”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

In the small town of East Haven CT is one of the best seafood restaurants! Located across the street from the beach, with outside dining! Food and location are the BEST! Fried seafood is FRESH! Take out section also

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuddyS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    40
    23
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good local seafood place”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I usually eat at the take-out section, not the sit down restaurant. It's a great place to grab a fish sandwich and onion rings or a plate of fried clams, sit at one of the outside tables, and enjoy the sunshine and the beach across the street. The fish is always fresh and it's a great place to have a relaxing and casual meal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXPENSIVE!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

For 4 people (2 adults, 2kids)=$100 (including 2 drinks).

My side salad was good. The calamari app. was very good. But $18 for a clam strip platter (which was good) that portion wise I could get at a local diner for $8. Did not like the cole slaw. My poor kids. $7 for my daughter's kid's chicken which was enough for a 4yo with only 4 small pieces which were extremely dry (like maybe left over from lunch & reheated). Portions for the kids were small that I had to give them my fries in order to make their poor bellies full. $25 for hubby's meal which he enjoyed (combo platter) but not worth the price.

But the worst part was that we received our doggy bag & had to wait 20 minutes to get our check. I kid you not. We had to flag down another waitress to get our waiter just to get that outrageous bill.

You're paying for the view not the portions. Food is good but for those prices it's not worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank remcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food by the Sound.”
Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

What more can you ask for on a beautiful summer day than a fresh lobster roll platter with fries & cole slaw. The gin & tonic made with cucumber infused gin was refreshing. Service was great and prices are reasonable. Eat outside for a view of the sound. My first time there & I will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Itskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Lobster roll!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stopped for lunch. I had the best lobster roll ever! It seemed like a whole lobster and no fillers. My wife enjoyed the seafood over ceasar salad and enjoyed it. The service was a bit lacking.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry62NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandpiper Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sandpiper Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing