We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st time tonight..can't wait to go back!”

Bistro Mediterranean & Tapas Bar
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in East Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
North Branford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1st time tonight..can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Tonight my daughter and I went to Bistro Mediterranean for the 1st time.We planned on ordering Tapas and salad. We each had a glass of wine with dinner. The wait staff was very friendly , attentive and efficient. The tapas that we chose included the stuffed eggplant, red peppers stuffed with ground lamb, and artichoke and capers tapas, and P.E.I. mussels in a delicious sauce. We marveled on the variety ,distinct flavors, and creativity and freshness of all the dishes. We ordered the Portabella Mushroom salad, which looked liked slices of steak and tasted a bit like it! Delightful- with greens and goat cheese. We couldn't finish it. David, our waiter, refilled our wine,as a courteous gesture. He recommended the banana dessert. We loved it...a banana sliced and coated with a brown sugar glaze,(like on Flan!), with homemade caramel sauce , on the side. It included fresh slice strawberry, blueberries, blackberries, and grapes, and a scoop of the best vanilla ice cream we had tasted!..Then David brought us a small glass of after dinner port to thank us!! He asked many times how our tapas, salad and dessert was. It was a most pleasant experience.We told him how much we enjoyed it all, and we would recommend Bistro to our family and friends. We can't wait to go back! This will be a favorite ! ( I have been to Barcelona in New Haven. While it was good, my husband and I both remembered the much smaller tapas portions. Bistro choices have more variety, creativity, freshness and larger portions , by comparison!) Bistro would be my choice rather than drive into New Haven! I highly recommend Bistro Mediterranean...the decor, music, service and food are wonderful!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    29
    9
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
225 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Service and food equally wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our second visit; our first being about a year ago. Everything we remembered from that visit was repeated this time. Fixe priced luncheon was delicious; the seafood bisque with lobster, scallops, mussels and shrimp was a meal in itself. The lobster ravioli was the real thing - lobster filling that looked and tasted like lobster! And the raspberry panne cotte was amazing and beautifully platted. My husband's empanadas, grilled fish with saffron/mango sauce and flan was equally as good. Many oos and ahs came from guests who had ordered tapas. I know we're looking forward to our return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pearl33814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I don't know what has happened to this restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

In 2012, I had been to this restaurant about 10 times and the food and service were exceptional. We went on New Year's Eve and the service was okay but the food was mediocre. We thought perhaps it was a fluke and dined there again last week. The food was uninspired, raw (beef ordered medium rare), the plating of the tapas was sloppy; we had an altogether entirely different experience from the astonishing food that we had eaten here in the past. It's surprising and unfortunate how far this wonderful place has fallen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Glad we stopped in today for dinner. The food, wine and service were all amazing. We ordered a number of tapas to share and each one was better than the one before it. Tried the empanadas, chorizo, beef capraccio and a few others. Simply yummy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomngerry10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
97 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place is a must try. We tried the steak tartar, cod fritters, the empanadas, the beef, sea food, lamb an chicken satay. We had the Brussels sprouts on top of risotto and the chorizo.

For dessert we had the crepes, flan and rice pudding.

The service is far better than any restaurant in new haven. The attention to detail by our server David was nothing less than 5 star/ diamond service. David made us feel like there was no one else in the restaurant but us.

To have great service am great food all at one time is hard to find these days.

So if you have the time stop by and ask for David to be your server. You won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomasjsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Mediterranean & Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Mediterranean & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing