We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 days at the Ramada” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hartford Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hartford Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in East Hartford
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“3 days at the Ramada”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

The property is tired. The lobby smells of smoke coming from the pub on the main floor. The rooms are clean but the hot water takes about 10 minutes to come and I stood in 4 inches of water that wouldn't drain while in the shower. It gets loud in the parking lot when the bar closes. Overall it is more of a motel than a hotel. Good if passing through and you need a cheap room but definitely not a destination hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NStormW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    57
    68
    50
See reviews for
66
46
18
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Rating this place "Poor" is generous. We stayed one night with seven people in 3 rooms. Overall, this place felt shabby and run down. The rooms were large and adequately clean, which is the best I can say. EVERYTHING ELSE needed an update from lobby to carpets to elevator to breakfast area. Several points to note: the connected "restaurant" is literally a pool hall / beer joint that happens to have a menu; we walked in mid-afternoon and walked right back out. The free breakfast is embarassing. It's set up on tables in what was formerly a guest room on the first floor. It consisted of four bins of cereal, several trays of muffins / pastries, bagels and a toaster, and nasty coffee in sample-sized cups.
The worst feature of our stay was undoubtedly the two drunks in the hallway screaming at each other at 1:30 a.m. which took two calls to the front desk and a threat to call the police to end. This isn't the hotel's fault exactly, but it did seem characteristic of the riff-raff we saw at this hotel.
Overall, this place was really, really bad for a Ramada. The Comfort Inn next door looked much more appealing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelcomeToMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Hartford hotels

Mass, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed 3 nights for work the beginning of March. The hotel was okay, nothing special and a bit dated. My room was large and generally was clean. The heat/ac unit was an older under window unit that was rather fussy and inconsistent. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom decent.

The bar was poor. The male bartender was rather aloof and spent most of his time on the other end of the bar which was the sports bar side, the hotel side is basically a hole knocked in the wall for direct access. The bar sticks 6 feet in and there's maybe 12 stools and not much room for anything else. You'd be better off attempting to cross the road to the Mexican place across the street.

The hotel is directly off Rt 84 and only about a mile from Rt 91, and you can see Rentschler Field from the hotel. It'd be very convenient for any event ion Hartford, especially a UConn football game, but at a good price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhineusFlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

House keeping was terrible. I had to stay there for 2 wks for work purposes. You were lucky to get your room vaccumed. Towels were stained, no reg. coffee. Not once was the bath tub, toilet or sink cleaned. Bad enough to work 12hrs a day 7 days a week and come back and clean my own room. Complanied to manager and nothing was done. Front desk never greeted me while coming and going. How rude. Oh and also the bar connected to the hotel was not so get, the barmaid said she was to busy with the regulars to attend to me and that i would have to wait. She made me wait 20 mins for one beer. Never went back there to say the least. Rude people bad service!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

This place is under renovation. You'd think price line would mention that they never changed the sign from Holiday Inn to Ramada Inn. Drove by it 4 times!!! Lamp didn't work...remote didn't work...bar w food had a filthy floor. Two bartenders and 3 guests - nobody could pick up a broom? Hallways smelled like marijuana. Price line - NEVER AGAIN!!! Only positive thing is employees were very nice.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

I stayed at the Ramada East Hartford with a friend in October 2011. We were in the area for concerts in Northampton MA and New Haven CT, and instead of staying a different place on Friday and Saturday nights we booked one hotel in the middle for both nights, which turned out to be a great idea.

We booked through priceline and secured the room at $40 a night (+ tax/fees, for a total of $54 a night). Great price for a decent room - we stayed in a room with 2 double beds. Beds were comfortable, sheets were clean, pillows were ok, but they didn't have a choice between synthetic and feather - they were all big synthetic pillows and I would have prefered a softer/flatter one.

Bathroom was a bit dated and the counter top was chipped in places, shower drain didn't have a cover on it, but didn't affect the use. Decent water pressure. Soap they give you is nicer than the usual hotel soap! Towels were a decent size.

Room had a TV however the remote control didn't function properly, and the TV was older and not a flat screen (which we saw in some of the rooms down the hall as we walked past).

We stayed in room 424 which was at the far end of the corridor, well away from the lifts - we found it quiet and didn't hear any of our neighbours (although we were only in our room from midnight until 11am both nights). The air conditioner/heater was a little noisy, but worked (at least on the heat setting).

Room was non smoking, although bathroom did have a slight stale cigarette smell.

Liked that we had a window that we could acutally open, the the window has not only drapes and net curtains, but also a block-out blind to block out the light.

Free parking, free continental breakfast (we didn't try this), 11am checkout which is decent (as Australian's we are used to 10am checkout.)

All staff we encountered in the lobby/reception were friendly and helpful.

Didn't try the hotel restaurant so we can't comment. Close to Hartford if you have a car, there is a Walgreens up the road about an hour away. New Haven is an easy 45 minute drive down the I95/I91.

I'd stay here again. Not sure I'd pay more than $80 a night, but for $54 a night it seemed like a bargain!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift banks as the lifts are old and a little clunky. Also, if you are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here for a night on my way to Maine. It was handy that I saw a picture of the hotel on the web when I made the reservation, as the name Radisson wasn't on the sign outside. Apparently this used to be a Holiday Inn, as the old light-up sign had been flipped inside-out. I guess the sign company didn't come through in time. At any rate I figured this was the place, and the signage issue was the worst thing I can say.

The lobby is nice. My room was on the first floor, past what I think were some meeting rooms. The paint on the doors and door frames to those rooms is pretty beaten up and made the hall look worn.

The room itself, however, was quite nice. I looked recently decorated and had a contemporary look. The furniture and carpet was in excellent shape, and the mattress was reasonably comfortable. There was a big chair with ottoman in the corner and a desk with a swivel chair. The bathroom showed a little more wear, but not too bad. Free WiFi is available, but its not secured, so be careful with those passwords.

There was a slight amount of highway noise, not enough to be bothersome.

I got my room through that famous name-your-own-price site, my first try at it. I think the published rate is $99. I got it for a bid of $46 plus tax. For a hundred bucks it would have been only fair on the value scale, but for 46 bucks it was a screamin' deal.

Overall I was quite happy and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fireflite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hartford
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites East Hartford
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge - East Hartford
Econo Lodge - East Hartford
#4 of 5 in East Hartford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
3.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
2.9 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Hartford Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 363 Roberts Street, East Hartford, CT 06108-3603 (Formerly Ramada East Hartford)
Location: United States > Connecticut > East Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in East Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartford Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the HHCC in East Hartford, CT located just minutes from downtown Hartford & 16 miles from Bradley International Airport. Travelers appreciate the convenient location & free parking. Easily located off of I-84, this East Hartford hotel is near Rentschler Field, home of UCONN Huskies Football, Cabela's, & minutes from the Connecticut Convention Center, Hartford Civic Center, Dodge Music Center, Connecticut Expo Center & Bushnell Theatre. Attractions near hotel include the Mark Twain House, Harriet Beecher Stowe Center, Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, Children's Museum, & the New England Air Museum. Other attractions include Mystic, CT, Mohegan Sun Casino, & Foxwood's Resort Casino. The Holiday Inn East Hartford is also near several colleges & universities such as the University of Connecticut, University of Hartford, Trinity College, St. Joseph College, Rensselaer at Hartford, Goodwin College, & Manchester Community College. Guests visiting local companies, Pratt & Whitney, Cellu Tissue, Coca Cola, Freightliner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hartford Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada East Hartford Hotel East Hartford
Holiday Inn East Hartford
East Hartford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing