We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not much of a choice of where to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hartford Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in East Hartford
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed here for business I had in nearby Manchester. There is not many safe hotels in the area so I booked the Ramada which was a Holiday Inn from the late 50's or early 60's. When I got there the signs were covered and it seemed deserted! there must have been only a handful of guests staying there. The restaurant was closed but they offered a small menu of food in the bar. It was quiet but the room was well worn and weathered. One day of my stay housekeeping did not service my room. The pool was half drained and looked like it had been out of service for a long time. Not the best place but in this area there is not much of a choice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHOODLUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 225 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

i got the hotel reservation on priceline so after I found out the name of the hotel I would be staying in I went to tripadvisor and read all these horrible reviews.
Well - these reviews are wrong. The hotel is totally renovated, rooms are big and clean, nice new smell (we were in non-smoking room) - it has everything you can expect from 3*** hotel. Public areas were clean, parking free. It included continental breakfast and on Sunday we even got free full buffet breakfast. It couldn't be better - thank you Ramada for a good stay.
Workers were friendly but not overfriendly like in better star hotels.
The only think that you could've hear loud motorcycles from the highway once in a while.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svetagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This hotel is right by the highway, which was a problem in the first room they put me in because the road noise was bad. They kindly allowed me to switch rooms, but the next one they put me in had a leaking ceiling. There was also a garbage bin in the hallway that was collecting pieces of the ceiling that were coming down due to other leaks.

The continental breakfast was a joke.

I think this was once a very nice hotel, but its glory days are over.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the highway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Was a stop off while heading home from a long trip, stayed at this location in the past when returning home and wasnt a bad stay, room was ok but restaurant was in the middle of renovations and shut down and pub was partially open with uncomfortable seating, food was not the best Iv had in the past here. Hope reno is copmpleted before next stop.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
Thank fireeater77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Rooms were spacious and clean. New mattress. Pillows could be bigger. Traffic from highway all night long. Used to being in the country. Would stay again. Short trip to downtown Hartford. All in all it was perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzyque56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We were trying to get as close to Rentschler Field as possible for our son's football game. The hotel was depressing and dirty, service was bad. The room itself wasn't bad, was very quiet, but not very clean. The area surrounding the hotel is scary and deserted.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This hotel is a DUMP currently under construction, which is never mentioned when making a reservation. The entire facility is filthy. The decor in the sections that are redone are hideous. Our room apparently had new carpet complete with an overpowering stench of adhesive. The air conditioner was old and virtually useless. There were no hangers, towels or glasses in the room. They were brought when we complained, but the next morning we discovered that we'd been given all bath mats instead of bath towels! No fun trying to dry yourself off with a bath mat... The manager refused to speak to us when we informed the front desk we could not possibly stay another night and would be checking out and requiring a refund on our next 2 nights. We were forced to call HI corporate for the refund. We then had to find another hotel to finish our vacation. NO ONE should be treated this way or stay at this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrahman, General Manager at Hartford Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2010

I thank you for your feed back and understand that we did not meet your expectations partly due to our current million dollar renovation underway.
However steps are being taken based on your feedback to improve our guests experience of staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hartford
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites East Hartford
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hartford Downtown
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge - East Hartford
Econo Lodge - East Hartford
#4 of 5 in East Hartford
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 363 Roberts St, East Hartford, CT 06108-3603 (Formerly Ramada East Hartford)
Location: United States > Connecticut > East Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in East Hartford
Price Range: $85 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartford Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the HHCC in East Hartford, CT located just minutes from downtown Hartford & 16 miles from Bradley International Airport. Travelers appreciate the convenient location & free parking. Easily located off of I-84, this East Hartford hotel is near Rentschler Field, home of UCONN Huskies Football, Cabela's, & minutes from the Connecticut Convention Center, Hartford Civic Center, Dodge Music Center, Connecticut Expo Center & Bushnell Theatre. Attractions near hotel include the Mark Twain House, Harriet Beecher Stowe Center, Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, Children's Museum, & the New England Air Museum. Other attractions include Mystic, CT, Mohegan Sun Casino, & Foxwood's Resort Casino. The Holiday Inn East Hartford is also near several colleges & universities such as the University of Connecticut, University of Hartford, Trinity College, St. Joseph College, Rensselaer at Hartford, Goodwin College, & Manchester Community College. Guests visiting local companies, Pratt & Whitney, Cellu Tissue, Coca Cola, Freightliner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hartford Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada East Hartford Hotel East Hartford
Holiday Inn East Hartford
East Hartford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing