We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable and Courteous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Clean, Comfortable and Courteous”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent rooms, service and easy to find off the highway. Complimentary breakfast was well organized with a nice assortment of hot & cold choices. Highly recommend it and would definitely select again for future travel needs

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rochelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    205
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
215
106
37
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland Pa, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night during my daughters freshmen orientation at the University of Hartford. Since I was not familiar with the area, and having had good experiences with Hampton inns I decided to stay here. Overall we had a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was attending a conference at the CT Convention Center in Hartford and the hotel adjacent to the center (Marriott) was full. In looking at alternatives the Hamption seemed to offer the best value for the distance away (Internet was free which some other chains charge for). It was a 5-10 minute walk across the bridge to the CTCC, very pleasant as long as the weather is not too bad. The hotel was pretty standard for a Hampton: clean, nice rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff. It is located in an office park area though, without much closeby. The excercise room was small but good with a couple of treadmills, a recumbent bike, an elliptical and some freeweights, etc. There is also an indoor heated pool which I did not use. Taxi to/from airport was $42. Good alternative to downtown hotels.

Room Tip: I liked my room on the west side where I could see the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluvialMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I booked the Hampton Inn at the last minute. It's a long story, but my son and I stayed to see WWE wrestling at the XL center. The hotel was clean (and I am critical with cleanliness), the included breakfast was worthwhile, and the staff was helpful. We only had one issue during our stay...the pool was closed (and my son was disappointed). We didn't find out that the pool was closed for cleaning until we arrived. We were told that it "may" be finished by the next day. They apparently had a busy weekend and the pool was overused (and it looked that way too). The pool never opened (again, a sad kid) and I talked to the manager about the situation. She handled the situation well and I walked away a satisfied customer. Will definitely be back next time we're seeing a show at the XL center. The arena is less than a mile away from the hotel. Very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinscamaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Will never stay here again - mainly because of management...

PROS:

Rooms are clean and the cleaning staff is lovely. Everyone I met was friendly and accomodating.

Treadmills in fitness area are decent.

CONS:

Firstly, I had reserved 2 rooms at the government rate. I got what i reserved (a king standard room, blah) and my colleague got the suite. Ok, luck of the draw, I suppose. Except I checked in first, and the staff informed me no suites were available at my time of check in. Since I am a Hilton Honors member and I am staying the week, you would think the staff would be more accommodating. NOPE. Another work colleague got the same room as I did, and when she complained, she was offered the option of having a mini fridge for the cost of $10 a day (after I complained I got a fridge for free). So I'm not sure what you need to do to be comfortable at this hotel, just complain to the right person I suppose.

The hotel management and front desk staff were appalling. I simply wanted to know why for the same rate, 2 guests received vastly different rooms. When I asked to speak to a manager, I was told he (Jeremy Starr) would come in at noon. He never showed up prior to 1230 (when i left for work again). The floor manager who I spoke with later on said that not only were there no suites for me for the remainder of my stay (lies) there also were no other rooms I could switch to at the same rate (my room was handicap accessible and therefore no bathtub). This was after the cleaning staff had informed me they had several empty suites, and that the hotel was not booked to capacity...the front desk initially said if I got a suite, my rate would go up $60 a night. Well, my colleague who got a suite ended up paying $99. Agh, I hate this hotel.

The area is SHADY. There are signs that say the hotel is not responsible for your vehicle and to park at your own risk, etc. That's reassuring.

TVs are tiny.

For $99, you can get better accomodations at the Residence Inn down the street. Yes you might have to pay for parking, but i have never been treated like crap from their staff. Plus you'll have more amenities, like a kitchen.

Maybe I am coming off as entitled and picky, but had the front desk staff at least been warm or friendly, i may not have written this review.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitalp429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercy109, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for reaching out to us via TripAdvisor. Please know that your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we regret you were disappointed in your recent stay with us. I apologize for the mismanagement of the situation, and for the frustration you must be facing in regards to the room assignment and rates. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction, and welcome you to contact our offices directly if we may be of any assistance or if you would like to discuss your stay further. We hope to have another chance to show you the quality hospitality you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,
Mercy Breitenbach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

From the wonderful mattress, to the fluffy pillows, to the smooth sheets, to the comfy duvet (you won't want to get out of bed!), to the view overlooking downtown Hartford, to the ease of access, to the size and cleanliness of the room, to the great breakfast buffet in a cheerful environment, and for the price, this hotel just can't be beat! This was the most delightful experience of our trip (we had stayed at 4 different hotels, including a Wyndham and a private Conference Center) but we both wished we could have stayed here the entire time. We didn't want to leave! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank yorksnbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Emgland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

East Hartford is not exactly a shining jewel of a place to go. However, if you find yourself needing to be there, this hotel is definitely a good option. Everything is clean and fresh, breakfast choices are good for a standard breakfast buffet. Fitness center is somewhat sparse, but everything there was working well and looked relatively new.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank martynkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hartford
0.8 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
0.4 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites East Hartford
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Address: 351 Pitkin Street, East Hartford, CT 06108-6221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > East Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-Minded Capital City with Pleasant Surprises. Recharge at our Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford hotel off Interstate 84 in Hartford, Connecticut. Our five-story East Hartford, CT hotel is located in a core US financial district of the capital city often referred to as the ‘Insurance Capital of the World.’ Get to work at a trade show or conference at the Hartford Convention Center. Unwind at a sporting event such as a University of Connecticut Huskies football game at Rentschler Field or a Hartford Wolfpack hockey game at the XL Center. Take advantage of our proximity to the Connecticut River and board a boat, jump on a jet ski or relax at the Great River Park. Spend a day mixing the old with the new on tours of the historic Huguenot House and Mark Twain House, and the Connecticut Science Center. Start your work or sightseeing day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Ask our friendly, knowledgeable team members for restaurant recommendations for lunch or dinner. Rest on a comfortable king- or queen-sized bed in one of our 121 spacious guest rooms and suites. Each room has free WiFi, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, alarm clock radio with an MP3 port and a coffeemaker. Studio Suites are furnished with a sofa bed, mini-refrigerator and microwave. Expect a large desk and a portable lap desk to meet your needs, and a refreshing WaterPik® shower when your work is done. Enjoy the comforts of home and friendly service at our East Hartford, CT hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites East Hartford Hotel East Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing