We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel across river from city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East Hartford
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Hotel across river from city center”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Hartford I stayed at this hotel during a large conference being held in Hartford. It is located across the river from the Hartford convention center. It is a standard Holiday Inn. I arrived into Hartford by train, so it is a 10-15 minute taxi ride from the train station. It provides a nice panorama of the city center across the river. Check-in service was welcoming and friendly, and staff went out of their way to be helpful, and totally courteous at all times. The only anomaly here was the person serving in the bar restaurant in the evening. Not quite sure what was going on with her, but it was a strange encounter, and simply ordering a dessert and a glass of wine was quite hard work. The room on the 8th floor was really spacious, and seemed to be one of the larger rooms in the hotel. It was excellent, with a great working space and living area. The internet was free and available in all areas of the hotel. It seemed to function well for the three days I was there. The hotel is a pleasant walk across the river to the downtown area of Hartford, via a bridge a few minutes from the hotel. It gives lovely views of the city, and is part of a sculpture walk with several sculptures on the bridge. I would certainly recommend using a taxi to travel back and forth to the downtown area in the evening. It is a city that does not have a good reputation for safety, although we experienced no problems whatsoever. Do not take chances.

Room Tip: standard Holiday Inn style
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to share your comments regarding the service in the bar with our Director of Food and Beverage. Feel free to call me at 860-528-2305 if you would like to expand on the experience.

We look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you to the CT Convention Center or any of the attractions that Hartford has to offer.

Happy New Year!

Johan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    67
    40
    17
    16
See reviews for
59
40
14
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you are looking for a quit hotel in the Hartford area this is the one. We have been staying in this building for a few years when we visit. It was recently remodeled and rebranded as Holiday Inn. We were very pleased with the staff. Our room was very nice and clean. The only down side is that it is located in the edge of an office park so there are no restaurants or things to do within walking distance. However, after the offices close for the day the area is very quite. It is also located across the river from downtown Hartford but very close to I-84 so you can drive to downtown in about 15 minutes. The on site restaurant is ok and does serve breakfast early.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandy5770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and for your loyal patronage!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best!

Johan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Everything was great! Friendly front desk, quick check in, nice room, SUPER COMFY BEDS (most important) with excellent quality bedding. Cost for one night on hotels.com $83.

I asked front desk person about food at 10p. She told me about their restaurant and said several places deliver. She also gave me a menu from a pizza place with a large variety of choices.

Easy on and off I-84

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank karlahannaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our beds, guests rave about them!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Happy 2014!!

Johan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I've stayed at a Holiday Inn in a long time, so I wasn't expecting much. When I'm traveling on business I typically stay at a Marriott of Hilton chain. But neither of those were available during this trip. The hotel was very clean, spacious, and modern. Minutes from downtown and the office. The staff were pleasant and very welcoming. The only drawback from my experience, was not have a mini fridge and a microwave in the room. But overall, it was a great stay.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor, away from the elevator. I could not hear my neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanikaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your stay!! Also, please note that we have microwaves and fridges available to make your stay more comfortable, just let us know during check-in and we will be happy to send them right up right away.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Happy New Year!!

Johan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The customer service at the hotel was great. The night clerk was quick to accommodate our requests (for a crib and other amenities) and a pleasure to deal with. The beds were particularly comfortable. The hotel is in a great location - right next to the old Hartford. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel, we look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to the Hartford area.

All the best,

Johan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I came to this hotel for a cheerleading competition. While the hotel was full with screaming kids I did take notice to the staff smiling the whole time. Greeting each and everyone of us with a beautiful smile. I want to acknowledge a few members of your staff. First is Shimika this person was composed all the while checking all of us in seemed like a never ending line. Second was Denise this lady deserves a medal. While watching other peoples children making sure everyone was safe, while grown adults were having there fun in the bar leaving there kids to run. Denise was visible thru out the evening in the hallways, in the pool. You can tell she really cares a great deal about her job. I made of point of talking with her on the morning of check out because I witness a mother yelling at the desk because of free breakfast. We are all made aware but there are a selected few that do complain to see what they can get for free, but my reason to speak with her was to express my gratitude for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel staff, I will be sure to share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you the next time the Cheerleading competition brings you to the CT Convention Center in February.

All the best.
Johan Liebenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York PA
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

While coming home from after visiting our son in Maine. We had prepaid the hotel through Expedia. We had a bad experience with the front desk. The young lady read a paper that told us we would be billed an additional $25 for incidentals and we had to sign three times as well as initial in order to say at the hotel. My husband thought they were requesting too much personal information and she was actually rude. Once we did get into our room, we discovered the heater was not working and the room was chilly. We had to contact front desk twice and it was close to an hour until Maintenance came into our room. The gentleman by the name of Raoul was very apologetic and moved us to another room immediately. We were very impressed by his professionalism. Also, we did enjoy being able to eat out dinner at the restaurant in the holiday inn because it was a cold day and we had driven over 4 hours to get there. Would probably not stay there again. The front desk needs to be trained on customer service and also faster response to customers' issues.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you very much for you review of our hotel. Your comments have been noted and I will be sure to follow up on the issues that you mentioned, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience.

Johan Liebenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hartford
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 12 in Hartford
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites East Hartford
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area

Property: Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Address: 100 E River Dr, East Hartford, CT 06108-3233 (Formerly Hartford Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > East Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easily accessible from Interstates 91 and 84 and located only 12 miles from Bradley International Airport, Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area features 215 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites. Additionally, there is more than 7,200 square feet of meeting and event spaces. Plus a restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel East Hartford
Sheraton East Hartford
East Hartford Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing