We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redemption”
Review of Loco Perro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Loco Perro
Ranked #7 of 22 Restaurants in East Hampton
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Redemption”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by twice,second time was great. Keep in mind your in East Hampton not the Mexican capitol of the east. food might seem "pricy" but if you want taco bell keep driving ,,these guys have real pollo,avocado,carne,salsa fresca & cold beer!, I would definetly stop by again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTTopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Best ribs EVER!!!!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have been going to Loco for years. Food has alwasy been great and the best margaritas in the area. The atmosphere is warm and freindly, especially during the cold months, with 2 fireplaces going. Best ribs EVER!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank profoundhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
228 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Stopped by awhile back”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

and was disappointed. Can't compare to other Mexican restaurants in the Middletown area. Restaurant itself, is a little dark. Food was just so-so and for a restaurant that calls itself Mexican - the Mexican selections were minimal. The waiter was also tending bar and chatting with the bar patrons. Made my decision to skip this place and move on to something else.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pearl33814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst Tex-Mex I've ever had.”
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

The food here is SO BAD. JUST. SO. BAD. Bland and tasteless, devoid of fresh and/or quality ingredients.

The only redeeming quality is 'señor Dave's wings.' They're actually very good and the only thing I'd ever get when I'd occasionally meet friends here. Even the margaritas are marginal. Service is ok. Don't know how it's still in business.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmommaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad food at a high price”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I love Mexican food - I could eat it every few days. As a resident of East Hampton, I'm extremely upset that this is our only option for Mexican. The food is a poor excuse for Mexican - dry meat, packaged guacamole - and yet it is still pricier than other Mexican restaurants that are FAR better. We end up driving a half hour to Manchester, Newington, or Glastonbury if we want Mexican instead of taking the 5 minute drive here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bleulite13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loco Perro also viewed

 

Been to Loco Perro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing