We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Allegra Farm And The Horsedrawn Carriage And Sleigh Museum Of New England
Review Highlights
Excellent experience

What a wonderful experience. This was a surprise sleigh ride for my daughter's 18th birthday... read more

Reviewed February 8, 2015
CRD67
,
New Britain, Connecticut
Hidden gem! Highly recommend.

Our three families with kids now in teens and 20's took a moonlit carriage ride around Lake Hayward... read more

Reviewed January 3, 2015
CarpeDiem0626
,
West Hartford, Connecticut
via mobile
Read all 7 reviews
  
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveler rating
7
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
7
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2015

What a wonderful experience. This was a surprise sleigh ride for my daughter's 18th birthday. John and Laurie, the owners, are the nicest people. Our driver (sorry forgot his name) was absolutly wonderful and very informative. When they tell you an hour ride it was an hour ride and not 45 minutes or 40 minutes. We reserved the carriage for 3 and we loved every minute of it. A must do for those of you who are looking for something to do different in CT and Allegra Farms is the place to do it. My daughter was all smiles. Thank you, it is not often that you pay for something and are made to feel that they enjoy doing it for you and it is not just a job. Our next experience with Allegra will definitely be the carriage ride. All smiles :-) I just say enough about my experience. Thank you again.

Date of experience: February 2015
3  Thank CRD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

Our three families with kids now in teens and 20's took a moonlit carriage ride around Lake Hayward and absolutely LOVED it! Horses, carriage and driver were amazing. We were fortunate to ride in the carriage used in Boardwalk Empire! Bring your hot chocolate and your friends. They supply the rest for an authentic New England experience.

3  Thank CarpeDiem0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Found out about this attraction on the web site 50 things to do in Conn. and was able to get a reservation for February 15th. The day was beautiful and the ride was great. The ride was for an hour and enjoyable. The driver was very informative about the farm and horses.

Date of experience: February 2014
2  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was on our bucket list, and we picked the perfect place, Allegra Farm. I called all the places an internet search for "Connecticut sleigh rides" turned up (a small handful). A few didn't call back, some had a steep price jump if you have more than 4 people (we thought there might be five of us, three adults and two kids), some said they could change it to a carriage ride when you got there depending on snow conditions (we didn't want a carriage ride, been there, done that) and some charged a cancellation fee. The owner at Allegra, John, was very friendly and down to earth, and did none of this. I called on the day of our ride to doublecheck the snow conditions, and we headed out. FYI the location of the farm has changed, it's now at 69 Town Road in Colchester, CT (near East Haddam).

The ride was an hour long, their standard time, and went by fast. They provided us with lots of warm blankets, although it didn't feel too chilly except for the few times we caught some wind. It was a beautiful day, and we went through all kinds of terrain: the farm itself, past numerous other playful horses, around the edge of vast empty snowfields ringed by trees, through the woods, over a brook, etc. The pace was nice and leisurely, with the horses only picking up speed a few times to go up small rises (when they sped up a little it was my oldest son's favorite part!). My wife and oldest son can get motion sickness, and although the ride was occasionally a bit bumpy, as to be expected, it was very smooth and not jerky, so they did well. We stopped for a few minutes in a secluded area of the woods, they took our picture, and my family petted the horses, which are spectacular. The horses and sleighs have been featured in numerous well known movies, and it's easy to see why. Very statuesque and well behaved.

The owner, John, was our sleigh driver, and he was a great host. Very casual, informative, full of fun stories (about some of the movie stars they've worked with), but also giving us lots of time to just soak it all in without chatting. He brought his little dog along, which my youngest son loved. The only thing I would say is be sure to eat/drink beforehand, because there wasn't any food or drink there (that I was aware of), and doublecheck the snow conditions beforehand.

This was a perfect sleigh ride experience for us all. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: February 2014
6  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

There were 4 of us that went for a sleigh ride at Allegra farm on a Sunday afternoon. The ride was over an hour long and it was over the fields and through the woods just like the song. The driver was extremely nice telling us about the horses being used and other horses on the farm. The horses were very well behaved and did a great job pulling the sleigh. The farm provided warm blankets for the ride and is easy to find in Colchester near Lake Heyward. We all had a great time.

Date of experience: January 2014
4  Thank capecodtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews