We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved & we'll be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bishopsgate Inn

Bishopsgate Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Haddam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bishopsgate Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 East Haddam B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We loved & we'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

The inn-keepers were accomodating to our requests and presented us with fabulous breakfasts each day. The inn is a typical reflection of New England and local history; as well as warm, inviting, and quaint. Our suite was spacious and quiet. East Haddam is a wonderful place to visit and accessible to many other areas.

Room Tip: Rooms may be considered small for some, but the suite affords plentiful space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
23
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

I have stayed at Bishopsgate for business and pleasure traveling. I have had nothing but spectacular service in all aspects of the Inn. I have stayed in most of the rooms there and each one has its special charm. They are all great.
The Inn keepers and family are wonderful, Wordly folks that will get you all the privacy (or great conversation) you'll need. They have always gone the extra mile for info regarding various aspects of the local scene.
The breakfasts are top notch and the pricing is where it should be for such a great B&B experience.

Room Tip: Some have fireplaces for Winter warmth
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffsbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband and I return to Bishopsgate each year from Los Angeles (for the past 4 years)and are completely happy with the comfortable lodging, cleanliness and friendly atmosphere. The cozy country decor of each room and public areas is soothing to our otherwise busy lifestyle. The location of Bshipsgate is perfect for local entertainment, shops and scenic walks. And, the breakfast is perfect for our culinery requirements. We would recommend Bishopsgate to anyone traveling alone or with friends or family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agentrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

My husband and I attended a wedding down the road at the Riverhouse and this was located right around the corner. This was our first B and B experience so not a lot to go on however we did enjoy the warmth and charm of the décor and of our host. Many nice antiques and trinkets interestingly displayed throughout the house. The nicest part was having an interesting conversation with both an elderly couple and a newly wed couple at breakfast. We ourselves were married 25 years. This was just what we were looking for and would not have wanted to pay a higher price anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondegrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

Great place to stay if you'd like to be within walking distance to the Good Speed Opera House, harbor and restaurants. The Inn was built in 1818 and the innkeepers are lovely. The Inn is filled with lovely antiques and family photos. We felt as though we were intruding on the family, as our room was right off the main living area. If you don't mind not having your privacy, this is the place for you. Very cozy and very comfortable bed!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTtravelbug52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctkagel, Owner at Bishopsgate Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2010
Bishopsgate Inn is a Bed and Breakfast Inn which, like most, is in an established residence. Part of its intended charm is the meeting and mingling with other guests. The "Family Space" mentioned is the Inn's "Keeping Room" which is pictured on our web site and is for the use of all of our guests. "Family" areas are well seperated from the Inn proper and are so marked.

We appreciate this guests great wordsd about the decor and amenities of the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2007

Definitely a good place to stay if you want to see a show at the Goodspeed Opera House. The inn is located a short walk from the harbor, with all its attractions.

The inn itself is a landmark building, and the furnishings are quite lovely and comfortable. However, in all respects this is an average inn with no distinguishing characteristics. The breakfasts are undistinguished. We were not offered a choice of breakfast and there were no breakfast breads, which is unusual for an inn. Our bed was not comfortable and the room was on the main road and noisy from passing traffic.

In the future I would probably stay at a motel, of which there are many in the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dantonovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctkagel, Owner at Bishopsgate Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2010
Unfortunately this guest would have preferred to stay in a Motel and would probably have been better served had he done so. Our kitchen has received rave reviews from most guides over the past 15 years. Breads are available for breakfast, but usually not offered when serving waffles or other pastry centered dishes. Thanks for the upportive parts of the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Haddam
13.1 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
12.1 mi away
Inn at Middletown
Inn at Middletown
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
10.8 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
12.4 mi away
Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast
5.1 mi away
The Riverwind Inn
The Riverwind Inn
#1 of 2 in Deep River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate Inn

Property: Bishopsgate Inn
Address: 7 Norwich Rd 82, PO Box 290, East Haddam, CT 06423-1343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > East Haddam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Haddam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing