We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good thing the staff was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maron Hotel & Suites
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
New England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good thing the staff was great!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I wish I read Trip adviser reviews before I booked. I read the Google reviews and feel like I have been duped. The location is very deceiving as this hotel was built in an office complex. I should have cancelled then... The "suite" looked like an outer office with an inner office. The furniture was office type and very much in need of replacement. There are holes in the sofa and carpet. Very dark, poor decor and the windows are shot!
This property is in serious need of a major overhaul and the owners should be ashamed charging the rates they do for such shabby conditions. Stay away!!! There are many better properties close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColeNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Management Company at Maron Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear ColeNewEngland, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the staff at the hotel. We are making some improvements to the hotel. Please contact me directly and I will ensure that you get one of our new rooms.
Ray Rickards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    23
    20
    33
See reviews for
31
23
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

It has the potential to be a nice hotel but it's so outdated and needs a renovation badly! The linens on the bed are something you'd expect to see 20 years ago, and i didn't even think those Zenith box TV's still existed?!? The continental breakfast had pretty well nothing.. You had a choice between cold cereal or fruit. Maybe a bagel if you were lucky. A little more variety would have been nice. On the plus side, the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure the door locks in your room because ours didn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Management Company at Maron Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear BBINA, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We have asked the chef to address your concerns about breakfast. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Ray Rickards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Danbury hotels

NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the Maron and we pleased with the size of our suite and the cleaniless of the room. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The price per night seems great for the area and I would stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Management Company at Maron Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Melissa R, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel, we certainly hope that you will stay with us again when you are in the Danbury area.
Ray Rickards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully situated to I84 and well within walking distance to some of the very best dining, Danbury has to offer. Including their own, Vivo, Restaurant. Very, personalized and attentive service, and not to forget Chef Baccolis award winning dishes. I always love staying there. Their staff is always friendly and professional. Also, in the true spirit of hospitality, make you feel as though you are right at home.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank victoria112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Management Company at Maron Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear victoria 112, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, we greatly appreciate your kind comments and look forward to meeting you the next time you stay with us.
Ray Rickards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is one of the worst hotels I've experienced. The only positive is that it's not a bad location: within walking distance of Western CT State University; it's across the street from a couple of decent Italian restaurants; within a 10 minute drive to Danbury Fair Mall. But, I would never, ever stay there.

As soon as you walk in, you're bombarded with the smell of cigarette smoke. It's everywhere! The rooms are dated and just gross. Peaking into one of the conference rooms, you could see the ceiling practically falling down. Where's maintenance?

It's awful. It reeks of cigarette smoke. It's dated and just horrible.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whereigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped here while we were moving cross-country. Yes, the people who work here are very nice, but.... You walk into the building and immediately notice how the whole place is soaked with cigarette smoke smell. Our non-smoking room wasn't quite so bad, but it had certainly been a smoking room at one point, given the cigarette burns around the bathroom sink. The carpet was incredibly stained, and in need of replacement. Otherwise, the room was clean; and thankfully the bathroom was probably the cleanest of all. We skipped on the breakfast (tried the coffee and it was horrible)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Management Company at Maron Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Simone T, I want to thank you for letting us know about your stay at our hotel. Your comments on cleanliness are greatly appreciated, Ari our Executive Housekeeper is a hard worker and does her best to ensure that all rooms are clean. We have made some changes to our breakfast, so please enjoy it the next time you are in our area.

Ray Rickards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in a great suite, upgraded by a very professional staff, who understands the meaning behind hospitality!! Truly felt like a home away from home.!! I'd recommend the Maron in a heartbeat. The Maron is the only independently owned Hotel in Danbury, and that definitely comes through while encountering their charming staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank victoria112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray R, Management Company at Maron Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear victoria 112 - Thank you for the great comments about our hotel. We are happy to always make you feel at home.

Ray Rickards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
770 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Danbury
Crowne Plaza Danbury
#8 of 15 in Danbury
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Danbury
Residence Inn Danbury
#9 of 15 in Danbury
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maron Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maron Hotel & Suites

Property: Maron Hotel & Suites
Address: 42 Lake Avenue Extension, Mill Plain Road, Danbury, CT 06811
Location: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maron Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Maron Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maron Hotel And Suites
Maron Hotel Danbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing