We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, but rooms need an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maron Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
upstate NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, but rooms need an upgrade”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here because it was in walking distance to the Ives Concert Center. I would not choose to stay here again. The rooms were clean, but old. Carpets were worn, chair had a rip in it, bed was old, air conditioning could not keep up. We booked and paid for a room with a kitchen, but the air conditioning wasn't working in that room, so we ended up with a room with no kitchen, which did look a little less tired, but we paid the same price for no kitchen. The room was acceptable though and was clean and did not have any bad odors. So I would only recommend staying here if you want to be in this location. The Hilton Garden Inn down the street, where we stayed the 2nd night after checking out a day early was the same price and way nicer.

Room Tip: Rooms with a kitchen are bigger, but appear to be a little more run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reeselis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    22
    20
    32
See reviews for
29
23
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Maron hotel to for my sons graduation. I have traveled all of my life and been to many hotels and I must say that the Maron is a adequate stay. The hotel is clean, and it's located very conveniently around a fairly busy area. There are many stores and things to do if you would like to leave the premises. Although this isn't a luxury hotel, the front desk attendant made me feel very comfortable. I arrived on a Friday night after a long drive and was very pleased to talk to a very personable and delightful gentleman who checked me in. The next night I was having trouble with working my thermostat, I spoke to the same gentleman at the front desk (Joe) and he immediately came up to my room and showed me how to switch it on which was great. All hotels need a front desk gentleman like him. The hotel itself needs to be updated but Joe was a pleasure made me feel like I was at a luxury space.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I found the hotel staff to be very cooperative, Joe on the desk was great helping me with an early check in. Dinner in Vivo's was very good. The suites are large and spacious, great to have a small meeting in. Will definitely make this my hotel of choice when in the Danbury area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trrbostn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were at a conference at this hotel and afterwards decided to go to the lounge for music and drinks. I must say, even though we only had drinks and french fries, this place is run professionally. Our waiter was Danny who was very attentive to our groups every need.He anticipated our every need and never made us feel rushed or being watched. We all enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere which included Friday Night Live Music as we debriefed our conference.
I think I may have just found my new place to sit, relax and listen to music. Definitely give this place a try.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TazRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I never write reviews, but this time I feel compelled to do so. My room at this hotel was dated and uncomfortable, but the worst part about it was that the window overlooked the lobby, which was loud all night long. The only positive about this place was that the front desk clerk allowed me to check out early without a penalty. Thankfully I was able to get a room at the Hilton Garden Inn down the street for just a few dollars more. Go there instead ... it felt like a luxury hotel in comparison!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenji7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Danbury hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I was planning a suprise for my boyfriend on valentine day, when I walked into the room it wasn't very pleasant. The carpets smelled like cigarettes although it was suppose to be a non smoking room. I stayed at the executive suite with a jacuzzi and a king sized bed. The bed didn't even look comfortable to lie in. The jacuzzi tub's appearance looked nice although we were not able to use it. The Maron hotel could be a nice place to stay at although it is very outdated. Some new renovations and new appliance and different colored comforters would definitely bring some life to the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SnaJid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I just did check out after a three week business stay. Their king suites are spacious and gave me a good comfort of living. But it took me a couple of days to find out, how to operate the last century control devices of the air conditioning. It seems that even the staff does not know, how to operate them. If set properly, there is no problem to even heat up to 80 degrees. Maybe that is the problem and they do not tell the customers, because it could cost them some dollars, if everyone has a warm room. But that is only conspiracy.

The building must have been constructed for a luxury hotel once. It has a garage inside the house, which is accessible from the back side. Space their is limited, because they are also parking old broken cars there. But because many guests might not know about that facility I always found a parking lot close to the elevator, which did bring me directly to the 3rd floor, where I had my room. A great comfort in winter time!

My room was in better condition than the one that they showed me on my advance visit. No wall-papers hanging down. Sorry, I also did not find any bed bugs like some other guest did. One thing: behind the curtain they are storing an unused frame with a mosquito net. It has very sharp edges. You might hurt yourself, when you try to open the window. SO WATCH OUT. It already did damage parts of the nice curtain. This house has plenty of technical rooms. Why they cannot store things like this over there?

The breakfast is also a joke. Just white bagels and toast bread. They give boiled eggs. But take care! Sometimes I did catch also a raw one from that bowl. In the first days of my stay, they did serve also a few yummy sourdough bagels. But that service did run out. I was expecting a little bit more, as they have a fully equipped kitchen.

The business center has no scanner. Even there was no software on the computer. I had to download and install adobe reader and libre office to be able to do some basic things. I also did download an antivirus scanner, but did not find time to install it. Maybe the next guest can do it ;-). The wifi is good, but was only available in the front room of my suite. In the bed room it was to weak to be used with my smartphone. The line to the internet provider freezes many times during the day. I always had to phone the front desk, that they reset their devices. This was a BIG PROBLEM to me, as I have to do remote work on my customers network sometimes. In every laundromat I find better facility.

No washing machine for long-time guest is provided.
No towels in the spa.
Even the bill looks messy.

My suggestion:

PLEASE, DEAR OWNER OF THIS HOTEL, CHANGE THE MANAGEMENT IMMEDIATELY.

With a few inexpensive improvement that place can become a great hotel again. But if the run-down continues it will become worthless at all very soon.

Room Tip: central AC is in back of building. So I expect more noise over there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwamiNirbhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Danbury
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Danbury
Residence Inn Danbury
#9 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maron Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maron Hotel & Suites

Property: Maron Hotel & Suites
Address: 42 Lake Avenue Extension, Mill Plain Road, Danbury, CT 06811
Location: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maron Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maron Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maron Hotel And Suites
Maron Hotel Danbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing