We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off rt 84” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maron Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maron Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Off rt 84”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were pressed to get a place to stay on a ride home from MD when we found this place. The rooms were clean, breakfast was fair..just enough to get you going. We had a inside room and it was quiet. The lobby was muggy but the AC in the room cooled it down real quick. No complaints from the 2 of us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    22
    20
    32
See reviews for
29
23
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel has changed hands a number of time in the past. I'm not sure why properties here don't last as the location whilst a little out of the way isn't that bad.

From the outside the hotel doesn't look that bad. It's odd that it's next to a supermarket but that's also a convenience. Inside the hotels past starts to show. The lobby is clean, the stairs show the hotel is in disrepair. From the outside at the back of the hotel, the lack of care shows.

Check-in was slow, the clerk was quite friendly. As someone else noted, they want to make a copy of your driver's license. This is a bad start.

The room itself was pleasant, clean, tidy, and reasonably laid out. If only the hotel could deliver beyond that basic item.

Breakfast is a joke. A few packets of wretched oatmeal (I like oatmeal, but flavored oatmeal? - disgusting), some horrid looking muffins, white - I kid you not - white bread, and hard-boiled eggs. Oh yes, terrible coffee.

The bar has a happy hour, it's mostly empty. The barman or manager, not sure who, was rude and confrontational when I went to enquire as to what they had on offer for happy hour.

The worst part is the noise. I'd rather sleep in a train station, it would have been quieter. At 11 PM, 12 PM, 1, even 2 in the morning there were people running around the halls and sitting in the lobby screaming, making noise, calling to each other. I'll say that again, even at 2 in the morning people were yammering and hollering in the lobby and the desk staff couldn't care less. I complained one night and it was quietened, the same thing happened the next night. Such lack of consideration for their guests sums up the attitude and quality of this hotel.

I hope not to return to the Maron.

Room Tip: As far away from the lobby as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Danbury hotels

Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Booked even after reading the comments on TripAdvisor. Staff make the facility. Great all week. Room clean and bathroom very clean. Continental breakfast OK. Price was best in the area and well located. Restaurant in hotel had good selection of draft beer and food was fine. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip, a very convenient location for me, certainly wouldn't stay here for any other reason. Nothing fundamentally wrong with the place, but very tired, needs a refurb.. Painfully slow check in process, not what you need at midnight after a long day. Free Wifi, breakfast 5/10 . Stay here if it works with your schedule, but expect nothing more than basic and tired

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

My main reason for not staying here again has nothing to do with the quality of the room. The room was fine; clean, well furnished and comfortable. The Continental Breakfast was mediocre, with the small Danish cold (just defrosted?) and dry. There were no hot items and I did not try the cereal. The coffee and bagel were fine.

The desk staff when I arrived was very cordial and helped us find an excellent restaurant.

My reason for not staying here again is that they required that I allow them to make copy of my driver's license at check in. I do no mind showing my license as a further ID, but making a copy is dangerous to me. They now have my credit card number, access to my three digit security code on the back, my address and telephone number, and my driver license numbers and info. If you follow warnings on identity theft, this is all that is needed for a knowledgeable person to steal you identity!

I will admit that I have seen this practice before and I have made note not too stay at and hotel that requires a copy of my driver's license.

I now plan to call ahead to any hotel at which I plan to stay and see if this is a requirement. If so, I will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We booked the Maron Hotel sight unseen and had trouble finding it at first for the businesses on the first floor. But when we walked into the lobby, it was a different world--very calm and relaxed. We were so surprised to find ourselves in a two room suite--we rarely get one wherever we go--for the pricing. Two TV's. A clean and spacious bathroom. Comfortable bed. The room's window looked out onto the third floor "lobby" rather than the outdoors. But all in all, we were thrilled with the accommodations and plan on using the Maron again.

Room Tip: Check online for a pricing deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed at the Maron when our power was down due to unusual snow storm in Oct. Mary Elizabeth was wonderful. She helped us in everyway. John, always with a smile. No matter what our needs were, they went out of their way to help us. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for being so kind, caring and helpful. We will always be grateful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elly4599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danbury hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
0.3 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Danbury
Residence Inn Danbury
#9 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maron Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maron Hotel & Suites

Property: Maron Hotel & Suites
Address: 42 Lake Avenue Extension, Mill Plain Road, Danbury, CT 06811
Location: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maron Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maron Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maron Hotel And Suites
Maron Hotel Danbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing