We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The toilet backed up, they told me to fix it myself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Danbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The toilet backed up, they told me to fix it myself”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I checked into a room Wednesday because Sandy had knocked out the power in my home.

When I got there, I found the toilet didn't flush. The man at the front desk told me to come to the front desk, get a plunger, and clear the toilet myself. The plunger didn't do the job. There was now dirty water on the floor, which made the whole bathroom unusable. I called him again. He told me to come get some towels and wipe it up. I said that I wasn't just going to wipe toilet water around my bathroom floor with a towel. He then told me to come to the front desk (on the Lobby level; the room was on the third floor). I said no, I would check out.

The guy at the front desk called his maintenance man. He said, "The toilet in 306 isn't working again." The maintenance man, I was told, couldn't come until the next day.

When I told the man I wanted to check out, he said that his "system" was down, I'd have to call his manager. I called her just now (the second day since I checked out), and she said -- she'd reduce my charge by $100, so that I had only had to pay $60 for this experience!

If I could give this place a zero rating, I would.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    34
    24
    25
See reviews for
48
42
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked with some trepidation due to the negative comments here, but the location was convenient to a funeral we were attending so . . .

Frankly, I don't know what the problem is, unless those one-star reviews were paid-for hit pieces. The room we had was perfectly fine, clean spacious and quiet. The breakfast area is small but the spread was what you'd expect in a hotel in this tier. We didn't use the pool, but a heated indoor pool is a nice amenity.

Plus, the place is right across the street from an outpost of New Haven's Frank Pepe Pizzeria, world-famous for its New Haven-style pies.

Someone here wrote "not the best hotel I've stayed in." Well, duh! It's a Quality Inn. It's not the best hotel I've stayed in either, but it did the job.

Now I'm a member of Choice Hotels' frequent-stayer program, so that might have affected the room I was assigned. It might help to ask for a room on the third floor at the rear.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShorelineNutmegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinndanbury, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback and also for being a member of our frequent stay Choice Privileges Program. We really value your response which validates our hard work and desire to continually improve the guest experience at our hotel. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel has a very unpleasant, musty smell from hallway to rooms. Both queen size beds had saggy mattresses. The air conditioning didn't work properly. The bathroom was old and stained. We moved one of beds and found food remains. There were bugs crawling on the wall. The nicest way to sum this place up is to say it is run down. A more straightforward way of saying it is that this place is a dump.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogersVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinndanbury, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We accommodate many guests each evening and strive to make their stay a satisfying one. We are sorry for your bad experience, and assure you this is not normal. We have looked into the issues you mentioned and want to assure you that we have taken steps to rectify them, including finishing renovating our rooms this past September. I truly appreciate your feedback and taking the time to share your concerns.

Sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Danbury hotels

providence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Where to start? Upon checking in I found the TV did not work in the room. went to the bathroom and discovered rust stains all over the toilet. The carpet in the room was wet. Upon checking the window, of my first floor room, I discovered it would not close properly nor lock securely. The clerk did offer another room but I had already decided the quality of this property was far below par. I chose to drive the three hours back home rather than stay here. The next day I discovered flea bites on my lower legs. Obviously from staying here as they do accept pets.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here June 14 with 2 friends and 2 teens. Even though the room had 2 beds and a sleeper sofa I had to pay $10 extra for the 5th person. This hotel was nice enough, but I thought the price was too high for a week night. The TV was the nicest feature of the room. The bath was a little outdated. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast of ok, but only 1 toaster and the counter space was so small only one person could be getting their stuff and at a time. There were only a few tables. I would stay here again, but I was not happy with the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-travel-alot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

By this time almost a week into our trip I've adapted to prices in the densely populated Northeast, so $90 with tax for a basic Quality Inn didn't faze me. However I was put off immediately upon check-in to see a pool party getting started. That's the equivalent of not having a pool available on a weeknight when I expect to share the pool with at most some business travelers and a family or two.

The room was incredibly hot when we arrived, and it took hours for the air conditioner to catch up. There was no lock on the window, no light over one of the two beds (not a burned out bulb, but no fixture at all), and a safe taking up space in the room and taking up my time in the morning waiting for the charge to be removed before I could get my receipt.

While the room was cooling we made a trip to the very odd Stew Leonard's grocery store. I can't say the selection or quality makes a visit worthwhile, but the experience probably does.

Breakfast featured a waffle machine which is normally a plus, but the batter was made so poorly that the resulting waffle was too rubbery to be cut with the plastic knife and fork (which actually folded in half). I threw it away and made a decent breakfast sandwich from the egg and sausage patties

The review asks about room service, but I don't recall a restaurant other than the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorpsofDiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel is very close to 84 as the crow flies, but really a couple of miles out of the way when driving. I booked it online and got a senior discount (maybe $15) and then saw it was available for another $15 less. It was annoying but the discount books say "not good with prior reservations" and choice was giving $50 cards with two stays so I think it was Ok to stay with it. One of the staff (owner?) had a large array of jewelry that she was making and selling in the lobby. We were given a large room on the 3rd floor, lots of space but not much furniture in the room, but the bed was fine. The hot breakfast was OK also. The Bennigans next door was boarded up but there was a smaller Applebees across the intersection so we didn't have to go far to eat. Our room was the busy road side (motorcycles) but I slept well. Easy to get back on 84 going west. The indoor pool looked OK but very full of kids.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for room in the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlanneNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danbury hotels
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
5.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Danbury
Crowne Plaza Danbury
#8 of 15 in Danbury
188 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Danbury-Bethel At I-84
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#3 of 15 in Danbury
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 78 Federal Rd, Danbury, CT 06810-5034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free WiFi , All Rooms with Microwave and Refrigerator, Indoor Heated Pool , Fitness Room, Spacious Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Danbury
Quality Inn Danbury
Danbury Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing