We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JK's hot weiners are the tops”
Review of JK's

JK's
Ranked #51 of 277 Restaurants in Danbury
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
267 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“JK's hot weiners are the tops”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My dad was born in Danbury. Over the years we had to visit the aunts and uncles during the holiday season. As far back as I can remember we always had to stop at JK's for their hot weiners. And for all these years, I still love them. Tasty, served quickly (they are grilled all day long) excellent sauce over them. I still remember when they were on West Ave before moving to their present location across the street from the grammar school my dad went to 75 years ago. After the relatives passed away, I would still drive the 40 miles from my house to JK's for their hot weiners. And I would tell the owner the trip was well worth it. Order three hot weiners and one for the road because you will wish you had one later that evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BibleBobK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port St Lucie, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Texas Hot Weiners tradition!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Long time local favorite for Texas Hot Wieners! Can't come back "home" without having at least one! Great place for breakfast, lunch or casual dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyStLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NICER THAN A DINER, WITH LARGE DINER MENU”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised about my experience at JK's. They have a huge menu of options and great specials with spinach and kitchen. Great omelette's too. They are quick and friendly. They have large U shaped tables which is great for large groups. The place is spacious and inviting. It's sort of like a diner, but with better ambience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank genieangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best diner in town. Great coffee too.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a wonderful family-owned and operated unpretentious diner. The coffee is great, the food wonderful and the staff is fabulous. They treat everyone like old friends. This is the best value you will find. It's worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
157 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nursing Home Cafeteria”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The average age of the clientele here is about 80. The food is not great at all and the decor is old and outdated not in an on-purpose, fun, nostalgic Americana way, but more so in an old dusty and almost dirty kind of way.

Unless that sounds like your idea of a nice meal out, I would avoid.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JK's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing