We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Bird Prime Rib”

Chuck's Steak House
Ranked #23 of 280 Restaurants in Danbury
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Golden CO
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Early Bird Prime Rib”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very long established steak house. me and the early birds sucking down vodka martini's and prime rib..... total tab $25.00 . very nice and close to the hotel.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BoulderGuyTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    108
    69
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It was actually good”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went for lunch w/ a friend. Nice menu selection, lovely salad bar and a good value. Our server was attentive without stalking us. I had the lemon shrimp w/ rice pilaf, she had the thai shrimp. Of the two we liked the lemon shrimp best. Location makes it a great alternative to the nearby mall dining options & crowds. Decor is dark and dated (think 1970's) and there are oddly placed plants around the dining room. Entrance involves passing a unstaffed chocolate display.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Decent steak restaurant with constant performance”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've been visiting this restaurant from time to time since ten years now, and the main point is, nothing changed.
For me that is positive, as I like the steaks and that is what I'm coming for. Can't say much about other items at the menu :)
Service is fine, but it can be full at times which leads to waiting times.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trippsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and Affordable”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Over the memorial day weekend, we were in the spirit for a good steak but got so much more than what we expected. Upon arriving at the restaurant, we were immediately met by very friendly and helpful staff, who escorted us to our seats quickly. I suggest calling ahead to make a reservation though because it seemed to max at its seating capacity quickly after we arrived. We were absolutely astounded to enjoy the rather romantic ambience this restaurant featured. Each table was lit with romantic candles and a very calm atsmosphere. The restaurant has a large fish tank in the middle , and several fireplaces around the seating area. The meals include unlimited trips to the salad bar. The salad bar was one of the best I have seen in a long time. The food was well cooked and quite tasty, arriving in a very prompt manner after we arrived. The waiter was outstanding, great service, and quick in filling our respective orders. The best piece of this visit was the price. For two nice entrees and two glasses of wine $50.00. You gotta try this place! We were pleasantly surprised!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoebus001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Danbury Dining Institution”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Any restaurant that still packs them in after 25 years has got to be doing something right! And Chuck's Steak House has been doing it right for over two decades ... great food, outstanding service and affordable prices! Whether you're a steak lover or fish fanatic, Chuck's will not dissapoint. Meals are perfectly cooked to order, served warm and in a timely fashion. I've never had a bad meal there - very rare these days. They are super popular so make a reservation and then be prepared for a wonderful culinary experience!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank InsightMarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Chuck's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing