We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Take-Out”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #19 of 279 Restaurants in Danbury
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good Take-Out”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We are traveling with our dogs, so resort to take-out or delivery for dinners. Often this means pizza, and we are getting tired of it! Tonight we are staying at the La Quinta Inn in Danbury, Ct and there is an Outback Steakhouse connected to the hotel. My wife had a hamburger that she said as good. I had the small ($10) steak that came with a side (sweet potato fries) and a Caesar salad. The salad was flavorful (enough garlic) and the steak done exactly as I ordered it. It was also a good size -- the 6 oz size is generous and about 1 inch thick. They were very stingy with the fries, though -- unlike most restaurants in the US which provide too many!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Compuvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    104
    47
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nice, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Brting A Snack for the hour-long wait for seating”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Generally a tasty menu, well served and decent steak at a decent price BUT that's all assuming that you don't die of old age waiting outside for seating. We haven’t figured out a way to dine at an Outback with out having a way too-long wait to get a table. That spoils the whole experience, especially if you are dining with young children or older family members.

Bring snacks to wait for a table.

Helpful?
Thank Cunsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
““Satisfied Once Again.””
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife & I visited this past Sunday 12/30/12 around 8 PM. We called a few minutes in advance for reservations and waited only 15 minutes before being seated.
The greeters and our waiter received us warmly, which made our visit enjoyable.
We were served warm bread with a side of butter until our orders arrived. The coffee I ordered was extremely strong, as always, which I could not drink. I requested a new cup with less coffee and more milk, which improved it somewhat...this is an ongoing matter which should be addressed by management.
The small house salad with a side of dressing was fresh and delectable.
My wife ordered rack of lamb, which was raw on the inside and was cooked more at our request; a new order of sweet potato fries was provided as a compensation.
My order consisted of a 9 oz. steak covered with a small portion of crab meat. The steak was palatable, but the crab meat not appetizing.
Our dessert consisted of portions of cheesecake, carrot cake, and a brownie topped with ice cream...as always delicious!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdlajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Consistent - What you expect from a chain”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is always a consistent quality place, what you would expect from a uniform chain restaurant.
The beef is a good quality, the steaks cooked right, the appetizers and desserts are a bit uniform, nothing exceptional or highly creative. Just good consistent food reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not the place to go for steak...”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Food is terrible...everytime I go here the service is ok...dishes have a grimey film on them and the food is overcooked from the steak to the shirmp...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lelee1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing