We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll feel at home”

Square One Bar and Grill
Ranked #136 of 275 Restaurants in Danbury
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Square One combines culinary excellence with the entertainment value of sports to create the ultimate restaurant experience. Located on Mill Plain Rd we're Danbury's only upscale sports restaurant that exudes the sophistication and elegance of an upscale restaurant and the excitement and entertainment of having a box at your favorite game. Square One offers Fresh, handcrafted and premium, made from scratch food prepared with the highest quality ingredients to ensure a memorable dining experience.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You'll feel at home”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very nice reception from the staff as we were seated in a well laid out sports type restaurant/bar atmosphere. There were TV's but nothing offensive in sight or sound around dinner time

The menu included seasonal specials (Irish). the Lobster sliders were excellent as well as the fajitas.Next time I'll get the crab stuffed flounder everyone raves about

The wine/beer prices are very reasonable with a good selection

One special note; our waitress was very attentive and even apologized when she couldn't see us from across the room because of other patrons. Never felt rushed


Can't wait to go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S76b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth giving a try”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Read the reviews and was glad we went to try it. I have no doubt we will go back. Loved the lobster sliders w/ warm butter on the side... Not over seasoned so you could get the full flavor, and just the right amount of food for a light meal. My husband had the steak sandwhich and amazing homemade fries. He loved both. Our waiter was very nice and answered all our questions about the place and menu, etc. I didn't give the value a 5 as it was a little pricey, but all the same I will be trying something new everytime we go. It is a relaxed atmosphere w/ good background music, and my Cosmo was fantastic w/o upgrading the vodka used. Go and check it out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PJGerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York, USA
Level Contributor
191 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Burgers”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As others have mentioned the décor is really nice and modern. Very different from the other American fare restaurants in the area. Many TV’s with different sporting events showing. We all had hamburgers and were very pleased. All cooked to correct temperature. They were very accommodating to my wife’s wheat allergy which can be a problem for some restaurants. We dined early on a Saturday night and the place was packed with families with young children, as we left the bar began to fill. This is a nice casual place to go with some friends or family if looking for traditional American bar food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
157 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Love the decor”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I think they did a great job with the decor for this place. It's very modern and nice without being snooty like other Mill Plain Rd options (Prespa, Spais, Max 40). There are TVs to watch the game in the bar, but it doesn't have the dumpy sports bar (TK's, Pippas, etc).

Drinks are good, decent beer selection. Food has been pretty good, some things have been hit or miss. Overall just a really nice place to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great place- Westconn Students need to check it out especially on Thursday nights for their college special. Food is good, tried the mac and cheese and wings. Good place to hangout with your friends and watch some games. Bartender is a good server love this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wcsu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square One Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Square One Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing