We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential to be great, but very inconsistent”

Market Place Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #7 of 282 Restaurants in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Local, organic, and sustainability raised ingredients.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Has potential to be great, but very inconsistent”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I've eaten dinner here many times and lunch just a couple of times. The farm-to-table is great and this is reflected in their changing menu. Some of the combinations are scary to read but delicious to eat! I've had a lot of luck here but know others who have been very disappointed in the service and/or the food. Recently I went on a weekend with my husband and some friends. Despite have reservations they seated us in the bar, which wasn't terrible just surprising. Our server was friendly and attentive, but unfortunately all of our meals were served barely warm. Considering they came to the table fairly quickly (which was great) this was a big surprise to me. Another surprise this evening was the charcuterie board we ordered. I've had this before and it was great. This weekend - despite being $19 which was WAY too pricey - it was sparse and actually had pickle and pimento loaf on it that looked like it was bought from the deli at Stop and Shop and they just piled up a few pieces and cut them in quarters. This was extremely disappointing even if it wasn't so expensive. Considering the inconsistency with every visit, I don't know that I'll be going back here. I want to like it - but it's too expensive to take it by chance.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    56
    29
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manhattan in Danbury”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restaurant is wonderful. Three of us . We each had a different fish dinner.Salmon, tuna, and swordfish. After initial bite we were all rolling our eyes with pleasure and making mmmmm noises! The "green sides" that accompanied each dish was also first class. Don't be turned off by its location literally attached to a Car Wash. Doesn't matter. The place is gorgeous inside, and the wait staff excellent. Could not be happier that this restaurant is in Danbury!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Tasty Salmon”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I am in town for a couple weeks and my colleague recommended this restaurant as I am very picky and a gourmet home cook.

The salmon was excellent and the lentils with the pineapple chutney delicious. I highly recommend it. Everything they make is with organic fresh ingredients including beef without hormones!!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank RebeccaN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great dinner date”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is our go-to place for a date night out. My husband and I have also brought friends and family for a great meal. One of our favorite places in Danbury!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank gvg1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has the potential to be really good”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I had dinner here with my fiance. We heard so many good things about the restaurant that we were excited to try it. After my experience I'd have to say that the highlight of my meal was the winter sangria. It was really tasty. Other than that, not impressed. We started off with the pulled pork nachos. When I think pulled pork, I think bbq. It wasn't. It was dry and the ingredients were just piled on with nothing to "glue" them together (i.e. no cheese) and there was very little flavor. Since there was nothing holding them together they were messier than necessary and kept falling apart.

For main entrees we got the stuffed pork and the salmon. The side dishes for the pork (polenta slices, cabbage, and brussel sprouts) were all burnt. Now, I like my brussel sprouts roasted and crispy but these were plain old burned and not enjoyable. All of the burned food overpowered the rest of the dish. Similar issue with the salmon. We won't be coming back for dinner and I'm bummed because when I read the menu online it sounded like it was going to be very good.

I did hear that the lunches here are good so I would be open to trying that Also, the bar area seemed nice and based on my tasty drink I'd probably do a happy hour.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 5STRTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Place Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Market Place Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing