We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Change to the Mill Plain Row”

Market Place Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #6 of 277 Restaurants in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Local, organic, and sustainability raised ingredients.
New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Change to the Mill Plain Row”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great food, great service! American farm to table" menu is a welcome change to all of the Italian restaurants in Danbury. Eli and staff are amazing and really know how to treat their customers. Food and wine selections are both original and reasonably priced. From burgers and sandwiches to pastas and steaks and seafood you cant go wrong.
Lively bar scene as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Wesnile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    55
    29
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and drink!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Kobe burger was excellent as was the short rib grilled cheese. Appetizer had only three shrimp. Should have been four to share. Elder Pear Martini was very good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A refreshing change of pace.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The restaurant serves food with very fresh ingredients and innovative food choices. You can have a complete dinner or a hamburger or sandwich. The dinner crowd can be quite noisy. Their butternut squash soup is "out of this world". The best I have ever had. They have a number of beer choices and a comprehensive wine list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank trina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York, USA
Level Contributor
191 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Everything was great except the food”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Really nice bar scene with attentive bartenders. Manager was very nice and provided us seating for 2 with a short wait. Our waitress was very nice. My wife really enjoyed both her appetizer and entree. I ordered the encrusted tuna which was highly recommended and I was told it was sushi grade and chef recommended rare. Well I asked for it black and blue as I greatly enjoy sushi grade tuna just that way extremely rare. Well my entree arrived and it was covered in a thick sauce and not encrusted in any was as discribed. To be honest I was curious how they were going to provide me a black and blue piece of tuna and still encrust it as discribed but they said "no problem". Well the entree was not anything I expected. Not black and blue at all and when I complained they arrived with both my original entree and another piece of tuna to show me it was as ordered but the piece of tuna they provided was a different shade pink and still black and blue. Rather than argue and make a scene I just said forget it and give me back the original entree. I cleared off the thick sauce and choked down something I didint really enjoy at all. I eat sushi twice a week and 90% of it tuna. What I was served was not sushi grade at all. So I guess give this place a try and avoid the tuna and you a a shot at a good meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
782 reviews
517 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Even My Picky Son Loves It”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Farm to table in small, comfortable setting. Rigatoni and veal bolognese with a sauce enhanced by duck fat - the best you will ever eat - the only problem is the caloric content. Great burgers. Friendly service. Parking can be a problem though.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Place Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Market Place Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing