We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“how refreshing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbarie's Black Angus Grill

Barbarie's Black Angus Grill
Ranked #1 of 272 Restaurants in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“how refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

From the greeting from Tom at the door to the staff who welcomed us in, to Chris who took such great care of us the entire time, it was clear that this is a well run restaurant and a local favorite based on the full tables and bar and the packed parking lot. The food was exceptional and the staff was outstanding. Chris went out of his way to make us comfortable.

If you are ever driving east or west on I-84 in Danbury, Connecticut, make it a point to stop by to sample this local gem. My wife and I have stopped overnight several times in Danbury and are only sorry that we have not tried the Black Angus Grill until now.

We will BE BACK!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carrabinieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    126
    46
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it but it lacked the warmth the owner had at her last place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The steak was wonderful but we are customers from the owner’s old location and could not wait to try her new place. It was nice but a bit cold. I did not like the TV's in the dining room and maybe they were just busy but it lacked the warmth. I saw none of the old staff who we were told would stay on. The owner was nowhere to be found. It was very modern and a bit pricy. The food was wonderful but I missed the feeling we got when we went to the other place, like a guest at someone home, welcome and treated like family. If they can add that flavor in, they will have a hit. If you are just going for the food, it’s great, but expensive. We would go back, but not as often as we would like because of the cost.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank atravelagtfor25yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Beef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had one of their ribs special. This was worht the price. The service is excellent, and the atmosphere lends to unwinding after a long day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We selected a new restaurant (open only 4 months) and were totally satisfied with our dining experience. Try the black Angus sliders with onion rings, home made soups and rum raisin and apple cinnamon ice cream. Wow!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Nice meal at a great price - comparably priced to Outback but locally owned and so much better. The sautéed spinach was excellent, as was the rest of the meal. You were greeted immediately by the owner and the service was attentive and prompt. I was amazed that the prices weren't higher considering the atmosphere and quality of food.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMa1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barbarie's Black Angus Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing