We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the dirtiest restaurant in Danbury.”
Review of Widow Browns Cafe

Widow Browns Cafe
Ranked #43 of 280 Restaurants in Danbury
Price range: $9 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Widow Browns has been in business since 1977. We serve fresh food prepared daily with a large diverse menu that everyone would enjoy. From burgers and specialty sandwiches such as Reubens and french dip.....to New York Strip Steak and comfort food such as meatloaf, mac and cheese, BBQ ribs and many more.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still the dirtiest restaurant in Danbury.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is mediocre at best but the beer is as good as most places. I have been coming here for many years and it has not really changed much. It is in a convienent location and has a pool table so my friends still go here. The bathrooms are cleaned a few times a week at most and the hygeine is lacking at both the kitchen and at the tables. Better off trying one of the other local sports bars.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank scootzag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WidowsBrowns, Owner at Widow Browns Cafe, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
The place is not dirty, we have a person come in and clean everyday not two times a week. Our kitchen is brand new after a major renovation and we score high on our heath inspections. Our wait staff and bartenders always are cleaning. Sorry you feel this way........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Widow Brown's is conveniently located half way from my house and job so my husband and I eat here frequently. It is a nice mix of locals, people just getting off of work, students and friends just watching a game drinkin' a beer.If you're looking for hearty food to fill you up while you cheer for your team, get a burger or the steak dinner. Believe it or not, their salads are also quite impressive for bar food! I am hopeful that Widow's will hosting the 'clam jam' again this summer. Clam Jam was a tasty mid week treat of a dozen delicious steamers for $4.00.
**I have to disagree with a previous reviewer who said the owner was rude to his staff and so fourth, I have known the owner for years, he has a very mild demeanor and I have never witnessed him treat his staff with anything other than respect and professionalism**

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l0ve_2_c_stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Revised”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had previously posted that this place's decor was very out of date and dingy. Someone from the restaurant contacted me and said they just finished completely renovating the place. The fact that they remodeled and also reached out to respond to a negative shows they are trying and might make me interested in giving this place another chance.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and staff... Except the owner”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The food was delicious and the bartender was great! However, we noticed that the owner kept coming over to her staff to berate them while patrons were enjoying their meals and drinks. It made the feeling in the room tense, and you could tell the staff did not seem appreciated. So we all left sooner than we wanted to. Unfortunate!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DanburyFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WidowsBrowns, Owner at Widow Browns Cafe, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I always try my best to treat the customers and staff with respect. If I failed to convey that then I am sorry. My employees and customers are very important to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No Black Widows at Widow Browns”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

On a recent business trip to Danbury, CT, a co-worker recommended I try Widow Brown's Restaurant. This is a very down-home restaurant/bar that appears to be a local favorite. Half of the restaurant is a bar and with several billiard table. I got the feeling that it is an "everyone knows your name" kind of place.The other half is a restaurant with rustic-looking tables and booths. The service was friendly and fast and the food portions were generous and tasty. I had the steak sandwich with fries. Nothing fancy, but a nice change from chain restaurants. If I ever find myself in the area again, I would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gunnstringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Widow Browns Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Widow Browns Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing