We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Does the job”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a reasonable place to stay, although I found it a little awkward to actually access, especially if you miss it as soon as you come off the interstate. Reception area was quite good, greeting at reception/customer service acceptable, the room is a decent size but with somewhat small beds, positioning of desk/TV/armchair slightly awkward, cleanliness generally quite good, breakfast was decent, although finished early (okay for business people but not so good for travellers). Attached Outback Steakhouse made finding tea easy. The hotel had some other good facilities.

The main issues I had was some slightly questionable housekeeping (there were quite a few stray hairs here and there around the bathroom), slow internet connection, but the worst for mine was that the bed was far too soft, like a great big sponge offering no support. Thinking it might have just been an aberration, I tried the second bed in the room, but that seemed to be the same. Now I realise some people like soft beds, but I prefer a bit of support in a mattress. With a better bed I would have probably rated this a four.

All up this place isn't bad, but make sure you like really soft beds.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boxing_Kangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    242
    74
    9
    9
See reviews for
285
215
63
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I usually stay at various Marriott properties, but for some reason, none in the Danbury, CT area are 'approved' by our corporate travel department. For those familiar with the area, you have to be careful with some of the older properties; one in particular, I will never stay in again.

When planning a recent trip on the company travel site, I came across the La Quinta. It's approved, it's in the right location, the price is right, and it's become my preferred hotel when in Danbury. It looks like it had a previous life, but has been renovated, and improvements are continuing (a new swimming pool and spa has been built since my last visit.) The rooms are new and clean, the service is good, and they have things like WiFi, flatscreen TV, microwave, and refrigerator. There is an Outback Steakhouse attached that offers dine in or carryout service. One area for improvement would be parking. I stay in the multi-story building at the front of the hotel, and the parking there is limited.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 5 story building at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KR0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Family of five: 2 adults, 3 young teens. Stayed for one night during longer trip. Stopped to visit a relative.
OVERALL HOTEL:
Easy access off of Int. 84. Nice, clean, newer looking, basic, no frills hotel that was recently remodeled. Friendly person at front desk. Outback Steakhouse attached!
ROOM:
We had a king suite with sofa sleeper. Room was HUGE! We did bring along our own inflatable twin mattress as we knew that my husband and I would take the king bed and only two of our teens would get the sofabed. Hotel was fine with this and there was plenty of space to set it up in the room.
Our room was very quiet considering that it was one of the most forefront rooms closest to interstate. Windows are very sturdy and good noise reduction.
BEDS:
Sofabed was pretty nice. Thicker mattress than one would expect. Our two teens said they slept just fine. King bed was okay. Fine for one night, but it was somehow uncomfortable for us. Not sure if wimpy springs, or what.
BATHROOM:
Clean, newly remodeled. Although the toilet did not seem to be set right as the tank leaned backward a bit and it kept "running water" from tank to bowl.
BREAKFAST:
Coffee was weak. Juices were the typical and good. Typical breakfast with waffle maker, muffins, bagels, pastries and some fruit. Enough to get us on the road. Person managing the breakfast area was pleasant, attentive, chatty, and smiling!

Only "complaint" (for lack of better word) TV Channels limiting. For some reason, could not get the Disney or family type channels listed on paper in room, but all three HBO channels with adult movies available???

Room Tip: I think all remodeling is done, so any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast provided a variety of choices. Our room was clean when we arrived and cleaned, replenished and straightened as we returned each evening. Check in and check out was very smooth and held no surprises. Entering the parking lot by merging into and then crossing two lanes of high speed, unaccommodating traffic was a challenge and somewhat dangerous. That is the only part of our stay we didn't like, but this is not something for which the La Quinta could be held accountable. If you can approach the hotel from Stoneyhill Road it is much easier. Good luck on that one! We would return for another visit and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reddy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel recently while taking care of some family matters nearby. The front desk staff was pleasant & helpful and we got a great AAA rate. The hotel has been/is still being remodeled and the room we had was great! All new EVERYTHING in the room! Just a minute off of exit 8 on route 84. There are numerous shopping malls within a 5 minute drive on route 6 or 7, including everything from Walmart to high end retail stores. Outback restraunt is attached, but there are numerous excellent restraunts nearby in Danbury, Brookfield and Bethel within a few minutes drive on Route 84 to Federal Road, inclding chains like Panera, McDonalds, Burger King, etc. Our Room was located in section D and was at the back of the property. The breakfast was great and the breakfast room is large & recently remodeled.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in section D if you would like some quiet - facing away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
447 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We were travelling through en route to Florida and this hotel was listed in a cupon book at a rest area. $65 for a king size room and breakfast. It is just off the highway and close to a Target store. Lobby was large, Outback Restaurant is attached to building. King size room was spacious, microwave, fridge, computer desk, free wifi, coffee maker. Clean, bright, quiet. The complimentary breakfast had toast, bagels, cereal, waffles, pastries, eggs, fruit and more. Great value.

Room Tip: Third floor would be best only because air conditioner from 2nd floor dripped on the window ledge of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NSRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danbury hotels
4.3 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
739 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#4 of 15 in Danbury
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 15 in Danbury
151 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Danbury
Crowne Plaza Danbury
#8 of 15 in Danbury
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
Address: 116 Newtown Rd, Danbury, CT 06810-4123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Danbury
#2 Family Hotel in Danbury
#3 Romantic Hotel in Danbury
#5 Business Hotel in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury received the 2015 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence and the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame award, a designation for earning the Certificate of Excellence for five consecutive years. Directly off I-84, our La Quinta is ideally located. We are just minutes from Candlewood Lake, Western Connecticut State University and The Ridgefield Playhouse. The hotel is a great resting stop for those travelers continuing to northern destinations such as Boston, Cape Cod, Maine and Canada as well as those heading for the southern Atlantic states. A day trip to NYC is always fun! Located nearby are local vineyards on the Connecticut Wine Trail, antique shops on the famous Route 6 corridor, ski resorts and amusement parks such as Lake Compounce. Many corporations such as Pitney Bowes, Praxair, Entegris, Emerson, Sealed Air and Duracell are home to the Danbury/Bethel area. The La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury features 133 guest rooms. Travelers enjoy our free Bright Side Breakfast™ each morning and all rooms provide free High-Speed wi-fi, a mini-fridge and a microwave. Pets are always welcome! Energize in our complimentary fitness room and in the summer, relax and refresh in or outdoor salt water pool. The on-site Outback Steakhouse is available to enjoy a mouthwatering meal for lunch and dinner or to enjoy a cocktail in the lounge. These thoughtful amenities also make the La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury the perfect spot to accommodate family and friends as a group or individually for weddings, reunions, sporting and theater events. We look forward to having you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury Hotel Danbury
La Quinta Inn And Suites Danbury
Wellesley Hotel Danbury
La Quinta Danbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing