We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very disapointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtyard Danbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Danbury
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very disapointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

Stayed at the Danbury courtyard with my husband and purchased the "romance package" Was totally mislead online paid 260 dollars for one night with one king size and hot tub. The amazing "romance pacakage" was suppose to entail silk rose petals, chocolates daily, hot breakfast for two in the Bistro cafe, and late checkout at 3pm. SCAM. silk rose petals were plastic, only receieved 3 little chocolate truffles and was refused more at front desk, hot breakfast was a 2 choice option that let you get the cheapest breakfast on the menu and was a very small portion, and was called at 1:30 pm and was TOLD TO LEAVE EARLY UNLESS I WANTED TO EXTEND MY VISIT?! The worst part of the time there was the FILTHY BATHTUB. I brought my own bubbles from home and put them in the tub after leaving and coming back after 10 minutes, the bubbles had brought all the dirt and pubic hair from the bottom of the tub that was obviously not cleaned and there was a film of dirt and hair on top of the bubbles. Totally disgusted. check out pics i uploaded of dirt in tub. Beautiful room and hotel but looks are decieving my friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYManagerDanbury, General Manager at Courtyard Danbury, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Hazel 1956,

As I stated in our phone conversation, I hope you will accept my apology for not having an entirely exceptional experience at our Danbury Courtyard. I can assure you that I have reviewed your comments with my staff and we are working on those areas which were not up to your expectations. Providing feedback is an important tool in providing quality and excellent customer service to each and every one of our guests. Thank you for contributing to the overall success of our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you to the Danbury area again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    85
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
59
38
11
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

We spent one night in Danbury in december. The room was nice, big enough and clean.
The hotal is well located close to the highway.
The only concern was about the bathtub, when we arrived a dark dust coming from the vent system was in the tub. All removed by fluching with water.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYManagerDanbury, General Manager at Courtyard Danbury, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Thank you for recognizing our convenient location off Intersate 84 East or West bound! The hotel has just been newly renovated with our new Bistro serving breakfast with freshly Brewed Starbucks, dinner and drinks. We are also proud of our Go Board for directions to all local companies, dining and Quik Print for all your Boarding Pass requirements. We are so sorry about the bathtub issue. Our engineers have been diligently performing preventative maintenance on each guest room and prehaps over zealous in their attempts to provide an exceptional hotel experience for you. They have been doubling back to check rooms before leaving them - this was great feedback and we are happy you enjoyed the large rooms. We look forward to hosting you in the Danbury area again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

I've stayed her twice this past year- once as part of a wedding block, once on my own as Marriott Rewards stay. Both times, we found this hotel clean, convenient and worth the price.

The pool/jacuzzi are a very nice feature, as is the business center and free wireless internet. I have not experienced the food at all, so can't comment on that. The rooms are decorated nicely, clean and amenities are what i've come to expect from Marriott properties. The bed isn't the most comfortable one out there, but it works.

My last stay was this month, and I stayed for one night. In general, the stay was uneventful. However, that night we had a hard time sleeping due to a very loud person/group on our floor, which I endured until around 3AM. At that point, I called the front desk and asked them to handle this. I heard the person from the front desk come upstairs, knock on the door and tell the group to quiet down, for which I was appreciative. HOWEVER, I did not appreciate getting a phone call 15 minutes later telling me that they had taken care of the problem. Knowing the hour of the night and that I was trying to sleep, I would think common sense would dictate that they would forgo the follow-up call or follow up in the morning. That was actually pretty annoying, and I hope that this is not part of standard protocol for such situations.

Overall, I will continue to stay at this hotel because in general, it meets our needs and is very consistent in quality of service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYManagerDanbury, General Manager at Courtyard Danbury, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Thank you so much for providing important feedback on your recent stay with us. Our policy and procedures are to provide superior guest service and I believe the agent auditor on duty felt this was a time to excel. Calling a guest back in the early hours when there are noise disturbances by other guests is not our normal protocol. Again we do try our best to make sure all of our guests are as comfortable as possible and follow up is key to our success. Again thank you for your comments regarding our newly renovated rooms. We hope the next time you visit with us you will have time to dine for breakfast and Starbucks or dinner and a drink in our Bistro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre New York, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night after a wedding. Check-in was quick and painless. Although our room turned out to be just off the elevator, we didn't hear a thing during the night; pretty good soundproofing. The room was spacious and very clean, great bed. The rest of the hotel was also very nice; there are some outdoor seating areas, a small pool, and the decor is very modern-looking. My only disappointment was with the breakfast; the wedding couple offered a continental breakfast for their guests (apparently breakfast isn't included in a stay here); the fruit salad was old, and the pastries tasted as if they came from a box. Coffee ran out fairly early as well, and it took a while for them to get on that. On the upside, there is a little cafe that sells drinks (including alcohol) and snacks, late into the night. Check out was equally easy; the staff was quick and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfuchs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

Awful customer service toward wedding party and guests on wedding night. Sharon the night manager was not accommodating and turned the wedding night into a nightmare. If you are thinking about using this hotel to accommodate your guest please reconsider.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krg770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

The hotel was clean an well managed. There is construction in the lobby. At first it appears that there is a free breakfast buffet but it is not. The breakfast restaurant is on the quality of what you would find at Hampton in and was pricy for what they served. We had an omlette that was not good and a passable, self made, Belgian Waffle. That was when we decided to eat elsewhere for the remainder of our 6 day trip. The rooms were newly renovated and very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

Fantastic hotel. We stayed in one of the upscale rooms with a hot tub and king bed. Everything was as nice as you could hope. Breakfast on site (not sure if free; we didn't have time for breakfast), and free internet in the room. Very nice staff, and warm cookies on check-in. Nothing bad to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleBock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#4 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Danbury
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Danbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Danbury

Property: Courtyard Danbury
Address: 3 Eagle Rd, Danbury, CT 06810-4125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Danbury 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Danbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Danbury Hotel Danbury
Danbury Marriott
Danbury Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing