We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Diner Breakfast”

Windmill Diner and Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 277 Restaurants in Danbury
Cuisines: American
Description: Diner voted best in Danbury.
Restaurant details
Description: Diner voted best in Danbury.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Classic Diner Breakfast”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Over the last 20 years, my family and I have overnighted in Danbury on the way home to Alexandria VA and eaten at the Windmill at least 15 times. Breakfast there has become a tradition, getting us off to a great start the morning of our departure for home. Everything's terrific- coffee, eggs, pancakes, home fries, you name it. Though we haven't tried them, they've even got blintzes. I'm a big fan of the hot Italian sausage with my eggs though the portion is so large I can rarely finish it. The wait staff is pleasant and helpful and the prices are very reasonable. You simply cannot go wrong with a Windmill Diner breakfast.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    57
    23
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lunch with Friends from NY”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Met two friends from NY state as it was the 1/2 way point between our homes. There was wholesome food at reasonable prices and quick service. This is exactly what one would expect from a diner, a large menu with a multitude of choices. It is a place I'd return to without hesitation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
782 reviews
517 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Just a Diner”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Not saying much to call this the best diner in Danbury. It is ok. The facility is a little tired on the inside and the food is acceptable but not particularly memorable. Fine for eggs and toast and other staples. Service is just ok also.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very good breakfast place. Fast service and just plain good food. The place never seems to crowed and I am not sure why, but we like it

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank atravelagtfor25yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We're visiting from CA. Nice to have an affordable place to go to for good food....and I especially like being able to get breakfast all day. Have gone there three days in a row...each time a different omelette...all good..ps feta cheese doesn't melt.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windmill Diner and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Windmill Diner and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing