We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fun”

Tarrywile Park & Mansion
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great fun”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The park is so much fun to bring the kids when the weather is nice. Park up near the greenhouse and follow the trail thats to the left of the greenhouse. The trail will lead you to an open field with a large pond. Tons of families set up blankets and picnic and the kids enjoy running around the open area and dipping their toes in the pond (no swimming allowed). If you dont have kids it a very romantic spot to spend the afternoon lounging and picnicing, there's enough space to find a spot tucked away.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4madtravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    40
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A nice day hike”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I love taking a morning walk at Tarrywile. There are a number of trails to chose from, and you can put these together to make a hike as easy or strenuous as you'd like. A walk around the hay field is a nice easy walk in the sun. A walk around Parks Pond is another easy one. I prefer a power hike from the top of Parks, following the purple trail on the map, then to the yellow trail to the top of Mootry's Peak. Very nice view! Then down the other side and back up by the water tower. Even on a hot day it's a nice walk in the woods. I've seen plenty of deer on this hike and they don't seem to be especially afraid of me. Interesting birds, water like and squirrels are always there too.

Not much there as far as facilities go. I think the only bathroom is a portapotty. And that is only near the parking area. Plan accordingly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank arubasail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Go for a hike, piknik or tour the grounds of the Mansion”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Over 700 acres to explore. The Director of the Park and Mansion, Becky, keeps everything in the most exquisite condition. A must visit if you are anywhere in the Danbury area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
157 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Hiking Trails”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I love hiking here! Great trails, with some being easier and faster with the more difficult going to the top of a mountain that overlooks Danbury and you can see out for miles and miles. I hate the cold so I haven't been since the temperatures have dropped, but can't wait to be back out here all the time from April - October.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy the outdoors”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I enjoy spring through fall walking the trails and enjoying the outdoors at this well-maintained park. We loved the grounds so much that we even got married at the mansion. What a fantastic location, we couldn't have picked a better place. the historical mansion is beautiful and the grounds are perfect. spend a weekend day hiking and picnic at one of the many available picnic tables, take your kids to the children's garden, it's so cute! be aware that there aren't any bathrooms other than a few port o pottys.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMCarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarrywile Park & Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Tarrywile Park & Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing