We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza Pie!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frank Pepe Pizzeria

Frank Pepe Pizzeria
Ranked #19 of 272 Restaurants in Danbury
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
146 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Pizza Pie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were visiting Yale and ordered a pizza to go. There was a long wait, even at 4:30p. The pizza was great. It was made in a fire stoked oven (really fun to watch). The flavors were wonderful. It is worth a stop on your next trip...just be sure to have time to wait!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelingmom15108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    56
    22
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ponoka, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had the Summer Special - Tomato Pie and an Italian Sausage. Both Pizzas were fantastic and worth driving to Danbury for. The service was good and the pizzas came out in a timely manner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bobbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Tried it Again...Beware”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This time I called ahead to order a pie to take home. When I arrived to the parking lot, I could smelt burnt pizza again, I thought I should'nt be doing this.

A nice young lady brought a large pizza box to me opened it and asked how it looked. I responded: "It looks a little over-cooked." I was trying to be polite. She told me that the brick ovens are really hot and that the pizzas bake fast and this is how they serve them. I told her that it was burnt to a crisp and that I would not take that pizza. The pizza crust was black and the cheese was burnt to a dark brown color.

She then asked me if I would like a pizza that was "lightly baked" and I said "sure". She told me that in the future that if I did not want a pizza so well-done that I should ask for it to be "lightly baked". She was very nice about it - because she too knew that it was burnt.

It was great this time...I mean what does it take to make a good pizza? Put a little care into it and you can keep your customers happy. And when is it perfectly okay to sell a burnt pizza to the public? Are we just idiots?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Pizza here is great. Doesn't look pretty but tastes fantastic. Love the clam pizza with the tomato sauce and mozzarella.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“inconsistant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

You never know if you will get a good, bad or fair pizza. The salad is boring field greens. Nothing special and very inconsistent. Too bad the one in New Haven is really good but these guys don't have it together yet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janey303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frank Pepe Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing