We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute, small, affordable, great food and byob!”
Review of Pho Vietnam

Pho Vietnam
Ranked #6 of 280 Restaurants in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“cute, small, affordable, great food and byob!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place doesn't look like anything special from the outside. In fact, you have probably passed it a million times and never even gave it a second glance. That should stop now! Yes, the place is tiny, but it's cute, the service is great, the food is fantastic and it's affordable! to top it all off, you can byob (there is a liquor store next door too). I am never the type to get the same meal every time I go to a place, but I find that i haven't had much besides the pho here because it is so good that I dream about it and constantly try to find the opportunity to get some. it gets crowded, even on a sunday at 1pm we had to wait for a table, but it is well worth it. enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMCarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    66
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, not expensive, good service, byob”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

. The decor could be better (nicer tables etc) but everything else was great. So we'll be back many times. Great for casual meals as a single, couple or for a foursome.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BLKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Authentic & Delicious”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We went years ago and were underwhelmed, so we were surprised to hear it was a great restaurant. On a more recent visit, we were wowed. Management & chef evidently changed several years ago and have built a loyal, enthusiastic following. Everything was delicious, from curries to summer rolls to rice dishes. Prompt helpful service was appreciated because the place was packed by 6:30 on a weeknight! Asian families, Connecticut matrons with pearls, dating couples -- they all seemed to be loving it.

Helpful?
3 Thank ManhattanAdwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food & Prices”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Pho is a great place to have a dinner out as a couple or with a few friends (best if under six in party), without breaking the bank. The food is authentic, while service is fast and attentive. They have decorated with bold colors and beautiful pictures of Vietnam. Also, don't forget to BYOB. If you forget there is a package store next door.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank idatater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow! A special little place”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were looking for a lunch stop during a trip and found this through TripAdvisor. We read the food was good but not to expect much for ambience. Well, the food is great and the small dining room with its mix moldings left by the previous tenant and charming paintings depicting Vietnam on the walls is very pleasant. It's BYOB and there is a small liquor store nearby. We had trouble finding the place, and ended up in a store closer to I-84, which had a broad selection of wines, including a dry German reisling (is that an oxymoron?) that went great with the food.

And the food was wonderful. I had lunch special of chicken, broccoli, mushrooms and thin-sliced bok choy in a red curry/coconut sauce, with tender noodles. It was very tasty and medium spicy, but the heat did not build up as I ate, making the whole meal enjoyable.

My wife ordered the ginger dumplings, which were outstanding - flavorful pork-based filling wrapped in translucently thin, tender dough. She also got the won ton soup with dumplings, again fresh and tasty.

It could be easy to miss, so keep an eye out to the left on the way north from I-84; it's a little more than a half mile.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LikeLivingThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pho Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing