We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, especially for vegetarian and vegans!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kibberia

Kibberia
Ranked #14 of 275 Restaurants in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
181 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent food, especially for vegetarian and vegans!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

LOVE the food at Kibberia, a tiny cafe style restaurant tucked back in an old shopping center. The humms and falafel is the BEST I have ever had. Even better, there are SO many offerings for vegetarians and vegans, which is difficult to find these days.

The owners are very pleasant and helpful in so many ways, and they know the menu well. Also, if you bring your own bottle of wine, they will provide glasses for your dining pleasure. The format is cafe style but with a nice flair of colored chairs and nice decor. The place is big and airy.

I keep going back and really have not been disappointed in anything, except...some of the prices are just a tad too high (example- $8 for grape leaves). Still, I highly recommend this restaurant for Lebanese/Meditteranean food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    51
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
249 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Very good middle eastern”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a really nice casual middle eastern place. The hummus, falafel, tabbouleh, and Shwarma were delicious and tasted really fresh. This is more of a lunch place than a dinner place. The food took slightly longer to prepare than I would have expected, but it was delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Flavorful food, comfortable atmosphere, something different”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If your looking for a fast food alternative, Kibberia may suite the bill. This is not a fancy restaurant- there are booths, tables, and seating areas with some comfy chairs. Orders are placed at the counter and brought to your table when ready. The chalkboard menu can be a bit confusing for people unfamiliar with the cuisine. The menus on the counter offer more in depth descriptions of the dishes. Service is attentive and pleasant. Chicken swarma salad was delicioius.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stormville, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Great Staff and a great place relax”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a Jewel. Have been 2 times and i dig this place. I will be back. My salad was so flavorable and the seating area is neat. Imformal yet inviting. A good steady flow of customers. I am getting hungry just thinking about the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Good Prices”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Four of us ate shwarama pockets (sic) and soft drinks for about $38 total. Fast service, delicious dishes, appropriate portion sizes, and authentic Turkish Coffee to finish. Desserts looked good. We found a coupon for even more savings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickInArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kibberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing