We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2 for special as well as regular menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nick's Pizza - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nick's Pizza
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great 2 for special as well as regular menu”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nick's is always consistently good. They have a great regular menu of italian favorites and offer a very resonably priced dinner for two special which includes a half caraffe of wine. We return regularly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
468 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Limp pasta, obscene portions”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Oh dear. If you can't serve pasta al dente in an Italian restaurant, you have a problem. And of the six people who were at this particular meal, four admitted that their main courses were tasty, but that the pasta was soft.

I had fettucine alfredo and, apart from the limp fettucine, one other thing just made me shake my head: the obscenely large portion sizes. I worked on that thing for what seemed like ages, and yet the plate never seemed to reflect this. Warming up already limp pasta never seems like a good idea to me, so I didn't box any of the leftovers. Which was probably a good idea because I would probably have needed a truck to take it home. I LEFT probably three times as much as a sensible portion would have been right from the start! Crazy, crazy, crazy. They could have brought out half the amount and I would still have thought the portion size ridiculously large. The customers would still be happy about portion size with half the food - and the restaurant's profit margins would rise.

Some contributors have talked about good "old-fashioned" Italian food. "Old-fashioned" may be true if you mean Italian-American, but we've moved on!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CastawayKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We drive a half hour just to go.The french onion soup is delicious. Portions are good and prices arent too bad either. I t can be busy though.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank umpire19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
301 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“consistent old style Italian food”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Been going to Nick's for many, many years. The food is consistent and always good and hearty. I love the eggplant parm rollatini and I get two meals out of it. Not on the menu are garlic knots which are delicious. Be sure to order them. Staff is pleasant, service is good. Great place to go with the family or friends. Easy to sit and talk, no hurry even when they are busy.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara115de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Well this was a favorite but then they changed their classic and most famous dish, the Chicken Parmigiana. They don't use the thighs now and changed to the breasts which are not as tasty. I just go for the Pizza now.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing