We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My sister and I were looking for a hotel at the last minute since the hotel we booked was horrid and we needed to leave immediately. We found the Ethan Allen on the main drag, and although it doesn't look fancy from the outside, the interior was very nice and the staff outstanding! It is one of the most comfortable places to stay with clean well appointed rooms and, again, a professional, charming, welcoming staff. Thanks to all of you.

Room Tip: Don't forget to let the staff know if you have AAA or are a senior. They discount for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mssuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ethan Allen Hotel. We are pleased you discovered us!

Thank you for rating us 4 out 5 for customer service! We are delighted you found our staff attentive & professional, the hotel comfortable & charming, and your guest room both well appointed & clean.

The next time you intend on returning to Danbury, please feel free to contact me direclty at (203) 448-7100, so I may assist you personally with your reservations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and often! Thank you -

Best,
Janice Perna-Nicholas
GM - Ethan Allen Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 838 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed this clean, well appointed Hotel while traveling home from business. We had an 8 hour trip home and decided to make a stop over half way through. I found the Ethan Allen Hotel on line, read good things about it and called to make a one night reservation. The person who took my reservation was polite and efficient. The hotel is very conveniently located, just off I-84 in Danbury. Upon arrival, check in was handled efficiently and the desk staff was nicely dressed and polite. We received two vouchers for a free glass of wine or beer. We enjoyed dinner in the bar, instead of eating in the dining room, and our server, Robert was very friendly and efficient. The food was delicious! My partner enjoyed rack of lamb and a bowl of clam chowder and I had a bowl of their seasonal special butternut squash soup and a Cobb salad both of which were outstanding. Our sleeping room was neat, clean and quiet. The lobby area is beautiful and newly refurbished, with leather couches and a nice fireplace. However, the hallways and our sleeping room were ready for an upgrade. There was a notice in our room that room and hallway upgrades were in progress. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the price for the Continental Buffet was very reasonable, only $6.95. All in all, I recommend this Hotel for business travel and would return if in the area again. We did not use the Spa.

Room Tip: Our room was a two room Junior Suite and was very comfortable. The A/C was a wall unit with the cont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FUNNY146052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ethan Allen Hotel during your recent trip! We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback & comments.

We are delighted you found our Danbury location convenient; the hotel clean and well-appointed; the staff polite & nicely groomed; the food in Fairfield's Restaurant delicious; our newly renovated lobby beautiful and our accomocations neat, clean and quiet. We truly appreciate you rated us 4 out 5 for customer service.

The next time you intend on returning, please feel free to call me directly at (203) 448-7100, so I may personally assist you with your reservations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and often. Many thanks!

Best,
Janice Perna-Nicholas
GM - Ethan Allen Hotel
21 Lake Ave, Ext
Danbury, CT 06811

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Always wanted to stay here traveling from the South to New England. We were so surprised that this full service hotel was such a fair price. Had a lovely suite for $125. All the personnel were gracious and professional. Dinner in the dining room was excellent. The server was the best. Beautiful ambiance throughout the hotel. We''l be back.

Room Tip: Worth the small cost of a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5sandyhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ethan Allen Hotel while traveling. We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback.

Many thanks for rating us 5 out 5 for customer service! We are delighted you received good value for price paid. We are pleased you found our staff both gracious and professional. We pride ourselves on hiring and retaining the "best" employees in the market.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your dinner in Fairfield's Restaurant, along with excellent service and the beautiful ambiance. We can not wait until you return. If I can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at (203) 448-7100, so I may personally assist you with your reservations.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Ethan Allen Hotel - we look forward to seeing you again soon and often!

Best,
Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager - Ethan Allen Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We visited the last week of September for my small wedding. There were four of us in total. W actually chose to get married in Danbury because of the Ethan Allen Hotel! From the moment we checked in and throughout our entire stay the staff was aware of who we were and acknowledged us in a friendly yet professional manner. As things sometimes go with weddings, we were forced to changed several aspects of the ceremony and after party. Eileen's help was top-notch! I can't imagine how we would have survived without her. Jeffery, Gregory, and Joseph were always there for us as well. We plan to return next year to celebrate this anniversary and you can bet we will be staying at the Ethan Allen Hotel! Skip the big chains and stay in a hotel where you are not just another customer and they truly appreciate your business and care about your comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justkda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Congratulations on getting married!

We are truly delighted you choose to get married in Danbury because of the Ethan Allen Hotel.

Thank you for rating our customer service 5 out of 5! We are thrilled you found the entire team friendly, professional and helpful. We are forunate to have hired and retained the "best" staff in the marketplace. We are pleased Eileen, Jeffrey, Joseph and Greg were helpful in every aspect of making your wedding day a success.

We all forward to welcoming you back on your first anniversary. If and when, I can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at (203) 448-7100. Thank you!

Warmest regards,

Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager
Ethan Allen Hotel
21 Lake Ave, Ext.
Danbury, CT 06811

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We could not have picked out a better place to get married! The staff was attentive and did an amazing job! Jeffery, Gregory, Joseph and Eileen were absolutely AWESOME! My Wife and I are going there next year to celebrate our anniversary!

Room Tip: Hotel is being renovated and the rooms will be renovated soon. That is the only reason I have very g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margiv34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Marg,

Congratulations on your wedding!

Thank you very much for choosing the Ethan Allen Hotel to celebrate one of the most important days in your life! We are pleased you choose us as your venue and thank you for rating us 5 out 5 for customer service.

We are delighted you found Jeffrey, Greg, Joseph and Eileen amazing. We are forunate to have the "best" staff in the marketplace. If I can be of further assistance to you, please feel free to call me directly at (203) 448-7100.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Ethan Allen Hotel to host your wedding reception. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you -

Regards,
Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager - Ethan Allen Hotel
21 Lake Ave, Ext,
Danbury CT 06811

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a small gathering this past week at the Ethan Allen. Even though we were not spending thousands of dollars, we were treated as if we were. Jeffrey, Gregory, Joseph and Eileen, are the best! They went over and above, even when our plans changed suddenly. We would highly recommend this hotel. Accommodations, restaurant, bar and all the staff were wonderful. Thank you again for such a memorable experience.

-Jeanine Sullivan

Room Tip: The king deluxe suite on the 6th floor was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Jeanine,

Thank for choosing the Ethan Allen Hotel. We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback!

Many thanks for rating us 5 out 5 for customer service! We are thrilled you chose our hotel to host your intimate family gathering. We are delighted you found our staff "amazing", especially Jeffrey, Joseph, Greg and Eileen. We pride ourselves on hiring & retaining the "best" staff in the marketplace.

We are further pleased you found the team accommodating in Fairfield's Restaurant & Lounge. The next time you intend on returning, please feel free to call me directly at (203) 448-7100, so I may personally assist you with your reservations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you!

Best,
Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager
Ethan Allen Hotel
21 Lake Ave Ext.
Danbury, CT 06811

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I had a room block at the Ethan Allen hotel for our wedding at candlewood inn. They were very accommodating to us and our guest. We also had our rehearsal dinner there and the food was great. The rooms are very nice and affordable. They have a great lounge to hang out in with your family and friends. The staff is very nice and Eileen was great to work with. Definitely recommend staying there, its the nicest hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Jeff,

Thank you for choosing the Ethan Allen Hotel for your wedding block and rehersal dinner. We truly appreciate your business.

Thank you for rating us 5 out of 5 for service! We are thrilled you found the hotel to be a "great place"; enjoyed our food; found the rooms nice and of good value; enjoyed Fairfield's Lounge and liked our staff, especially Eilleen, one of our superstars!

Most importantly, we are delighted you will reccommend our hotel to others.

Jeff, the next time you intend on returning, please feel free to contact me directly at (203) 448-7100, so I may personally assist you. Thanks again!

Best,
Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager - Ethan Allen Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danbury hotels
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#3 of 15 in Danbury
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Danbury
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Danbury
Crowne Plaza Danbury
#8 of 15 in Danbury
204 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethan Allen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethan Allen Hotel

Address: 21 Lake Avenue Ext, I-84 at Exit 4, Danbury, CT 06811-5286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Danbury
#2 Business Hotel in Danbury
#4 Family Hotel in Danbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Danbury
Price Range: $98 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ethan Allen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ethan Allen is fully renovated Landmark Boutique Hotel that welcomes it's guests with a unique blend of warm hospitality and the legendary comfort & style of Ethan Allen Home Interiors. With it's spacious guestrooms, Ethan Allen supreme comfort bedding, Keurig coffee makers and Gilcrest & Soames bath amenities a year round relaxing and cozy escape awaits. Experience a culinary dining delight in our award-winning restaurant, or feel free to unwind in our lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ethan Allen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethan Allen Danbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing