We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistant Quality, Value and Service in a Beautiful Setting!”
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 4, 2013

While visiting family in the CT area this past January, we chose to stay again at the Ethan Allen. We will never stay anywhere else! The beds are very comfortable, the wifi worked well. I would have to agree on the age of the TV's but honestly that isn't why we stay in hotel rooms. I have stayed at other "Brands" of hotels and the only thing I could suggest is offering a rate that includes the breakfast buffet (which I might add is superb!) or offering a discounted rate to staying guests as opposed to those who come to the Ethan Allen for breakfast. Other than that, I highly recommend this property to anyone staying in the area. The setting is beautiful and walking through the lobby is a visual treat.

Room Tip: I have always asked for the top floor and the rooms facing the rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoinToga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for returning to the Ethan Allen Hotel in Danbury, Connecticut. We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback.

We are thrilled you like our hotel and will continue to stay with us when visiting Danbury. We have an "amazing" team of employees who truly care about our customers. We are delighted you enjoy our consistent service & quality, value for price paid, as well as our beautiful hotel setting.

We are further pleased you enjoy our Ethan Allen Supreme Comfort Mattresses; liked our complimentary Wifi and enjoyed breakfast in Fairfield's Restaurant.

The Ethan Allen Hotel is undergoing a $3 million dollar guest room renovation soon and the TV's will be replaced with flatscreens.

Please feel free to call me directly at (203) 448-7100, so I may personally assist you with your future hotel reservations. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest regards,

Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager
Ethan Allen Hotel
21 Lake Ave. Extension
Danbury, CT 06811

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 816 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here last weekend with a group of friends. The price was excellent and rooms very clean. Service was fine, a little slow with the room cleaning. Wifi worked well. Two problems, however: the water pressure in the shower was terrible, and the sheets were poor quality. Not soft at all, very scratchy (and noisy whenever you turned over in bed!). For the price we paid the rooms were fine, I wouldn't rush back to stay here but I wouldn't avoid it either. Convenient location right off 84.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DF38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Ethan Allen Hotel in Danbury! We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback.

We are thrilled you received "great value for price paid". We are further delighted you enjoyed both our clean accommodations and complimentary WiFi.

Many thanks for your comments about the water pressure in the shower and the sheets. Rest assured, we will address these items right away

The next time you intend on returning to Danbury, please feel free to contact me directly at (203) 448-7100 so I may assist you personally with your reservations. We look forward to your return. Thank you!

Best,
Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager
Ethan Allen Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been traveling along I-84 for many years. In the past few years we have decided to spend the night somewhere to shorten our distance and time traveling from Maine to Maryland. We had stayed at a few different places along the way, then we discovered Ethan Allen Hotel in Danbury, CT.
It has been a wonderful place for our layover. The room is very comfortable, the staff is pleasant and efficient and whenever the need to change reservation dates because of winter storms, we were gratiously treated.
The location is great because it is literally about two minutes form I-84 to the front entrance. Another plus is the closeness to the huge and impressive Danbury Mall.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the king suite and have felt quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Marge and Bob.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ethan Allen Hotel in Danbury. We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback.

We are thrilled you returned and had a pleasant stay. We are pleased your accommodations were comfortable and you found our staff both "gracious and efficient". We pride ourselves on hiring the "best" employees in the market.

Sounds like you had fun shopping at the Danbury Fair Mall and enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to the mall. It is one of the finest malls in America!

Once again, thank you for your continued patronage. The next time you return, please feel free to call me directly at (203) 448-7100, so I may personally assist you with your reservations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best,
Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager
Ethan Allen Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here on the way to visit family in NJ. The staff is very helpful, not just with us but with other party's questions that we saw. The rooms are furnished like a family guest room, not like an institution. The manager tries to make sure that travellers are pleased-she succeeded! Having a restaurant in the hotel adds to the convenience. Can't wait to see how the room redecoration project turns out. This is our stop whenever we are in the area:))))

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Jeanne,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at the Ethan Allen Hotel!

We are thrilled you continue to stay with us when you visit Danbury. We appreciate your repeat business and welcome your feedback.

We are pleased you found our staff helpful. We truly pride ourselves on hiring and retaining the "best" employees in the marketplace. We are delighted you like our spacious & comfortable guestrooms and Fairfield's Restaurant. We can't wait for you to enjoy our newly renovated accommodations, which are coming soon.

Thanks again Jeanne, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best,

Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager
Ethan Allen Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is your place to stay. Very low cost via Priceline or by using AAA, but the "Deluxe Suite" is nearly 3/4 the size of a regular room. On a cold, winter's night the heat worked yet we woke up as dry as death. The shower has hospital rubber inside curtain and blackout outside curtain so you do feel as if you are showering in the dark. Shower head is from 1978. TV's are TUBE tvs. As in 1972. Not kidding. Impossibly bad connection. We didn't have the courage to try the food.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. Please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusicFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your business and welcome all feedback.

We are pleased you found our hotel to be of good value for the price paid.

We hope when you return to Danbury, you will give us another try. Our first floor hotel renovation was complete in October, 2012. Our multi-million dollar rooms renovation will begin in March, 2013. We hope you had a chance to view the display boards in the lobby. Many of the items you mention will be changed and upgraded.

Trust me, you will be completely dazzled by our new rooms product as we will become Danbury's premiere full service hotel offering in the marketplace! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you -

Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager, Ethan Allen Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for a friends wedding at a local country club. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. the rooms were spacious and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable. My only negative comment is there did not appear to be much to do within 5 or 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcdrj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ethan Allen Hotel! We truly appreciate your buisness.

We are pleased you found our staff both friendly and accommodating. We pride ourselves on hiring the "best" employees in the marketplace. We are further pleased you liked our spacious, well appointed guestrooms and enjoyed our Ethan Allen Supreme Comfort Mattresses.

The next time you decide to visit Danbury, please contact me directly so I may assist you personally with your reservations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you for your positive feedback!

Best,

Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager - Ethan Allen Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I loved everything about my stay at the Ethan Allen Hotel! The accomodations were beautiful. All the furniture in the lobby area and rooms was charming, elegant, and cozy. The lounge area had a beautiful fireplace. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: I asked for a deluxe room and was extremely happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Ethan Allen Hotel in Danbury, CT! We appreciate your business and welcome your comments.

We are thrilled you found the Ethan Allen Hotel both charming anf elegant. We are pleased you enjoyed the fireplace in our lobby and found our staff both fun and courteous. We truly pride ourselves on hirirng and retaining the "best" people in the marketplace.

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback about your stay. The next time you intend on returning to Danbury, please contact me directly so I may personally assist you with your reservations. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,

Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager - Ethan Allen Hotel
(203) 448-7100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danbury hotels
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#3 of 15 in Danbury
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Danbury
Crowne Plaza Danbury
#8 of 15 in Danbury
200 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Danbury
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethan Allen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethan Allen Hotel

Address: 21 Lake Avenue Ext, I-84 at Exit 4, Danbury, CT 06811-5286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Danbury
#2 Business Hotel in Danbury
#4 Family Hotel in Danbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Danbury
Price Range: $106 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ethan Allen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ethan Allen is fully renovated Landmark Boutique Hotel that welcomes it's guests with a unique blend of warm hospitality and the legendary comfort & style of Ethan Allen Home Interiors. With it's spacious guestrooms, Ethan Allen supreme comfort bedding, Keurig coffee makers and Gilcrest & Soames bath amenities a year round relaxing and cozy escape awaits. Experience a culinary dining delight in our award-winning restaurant, or feel free to unwind in our lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ethan Allen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethan Allen Danbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing