We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of flavor”
Review of Sesame Seed

Sesame Seed
Ranked #39 of 279 Restaurants in Danbury
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Full of flavor”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I cannot believe that I have lived in the Danbury area for almost 25 years and didn't even know this place existed!! Now, I cannot wait to go back! I went during the week, so were tables available without having to wait. The staff was friendly and attentive. The restaurant has a fun and interesting atmosphere...lots to look at. I ordered the shish kabob and it was different than I expected, but it was very, very good. The grilled veggies were sweet and the lamb was very tender. I also thought the humus was awesome. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone I know.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuttmegg_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“middle eastern food in a fun, funky atmosphere”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

affordable, delicious middle eastern food; extensive menu; very helpful and attentive staff. have been here many times, have never been disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Italia222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Sesame Seed Restaurant looks like a residence rather than a restaurant and without the sign in front, we would have missed it. Inside, you're in a flea market, an eclectic collection of "stuff" covering walls and shelves. The most wildly assortment of things I have ever seen as decorations. The food was a mixed bag. I had scrimp with bananas and pecans. It was delicious. The sauce, when mixed with the accompanying rice, was to die for. My wife had a combination platter of ground lamb (kibbe), Greek salad and rice. She felt the lamb was dry while the test of the meal was good. We started the meal with hummus, flat bread, and baba ghnoush. They were all excellent. Best of all, the prices were reasonable. The cost for four of us, with beer, under $90.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BMessersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Serendipitous Experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Serendipitous experience with individual rooms, creaky floors and all the trappings of a time gone by. Sitting there at a table waiting for food / waitress, etc. is an experience in itself. Lots to see / look at. I've been there a couple of times and have enjoyed the good food. A lot of it is middle eastern fare, and a small but nice selection of fish, chicken, etc. too. Recommended as worth a try. Make sure you check the hours & days they're open, on line.

Helpful?
1 Thank iykhandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hippie Chic and Good!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Eclectic, flea market decor greets you as you enter this simple, small establishment that focuses more on the qulaity of it's food than being trendy. Unless you consider hippie chic trendy! The Sesame Salad is outstanding as is the frehsly made hummus and pita bread. Lebanese-inspired meals are terrific and are the hallmark of this restaurant - try the tabouli! A wide variety of options present a very diverse menu and are very economical to boot. The staff is friendly, laid-back and very accomodating. It's a popular place, so make a reservation, you won't be dissapointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InsightMarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sesame Seed also viewed

 

Been to Sesame Seed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing