We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diner-ish atmosphere, but good food”
Review of Baci Grill

Baci Grill
Ranked #6 of 65 Restaurants in Cromwell
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
NC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Diner-ish atmosphere, but good food”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

While visiting family in Middletown, we were searching for a dinner spot that wasn't a chain joint. Just steps, literally, from our Courtyard Hotel in Cromwell, tucked away in a corner of the mall parking lot, Baci was both convenient and delicious. The first impression of the booths and the diner feel made us a little leery of what the food might be like. We were not disappointed. The very large servings (we all took food home) of traditional Italian favorites and innovative dishes satisfied our appetites. The prices were a little steep, but we had two meals from every dish. Our server was new and very young, but eager to please and was shadowed by an experienced mentor. The food made us overlook the less than inspired decor. A pleasant surprise! We will definitely eat there on our next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ny_mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice surprise near hotel”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Given location off interstate 91, we weren't expecting much. We were pleasantly surprised by the nice ambiance, background music, cuisine, and service. We had a spinach salad with portobello mushrooms and flank steak and the Baci chicken. The salad was excellent with balsamic dressing while the Baci chicken was tasty but a little too rich for us (would have preferred more broccoli and less pasta). Overall, we enjoyed our dinner and would return there if ever in Cromwell.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GalleyCookNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great food, good tap beer selection, good service, nice quiet atmosphere. Doesn't look like much from the outside but definitely worth a try.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ada B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a-okay”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

big portions, food was tasty enough but not very authentic and somewhat uninspired. a good, local choice but not really anything to brag about. they do have a (relatively) nice selection of craft beer which made me happy :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hfeinberg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We came here for a small birthday function the other day.

We only had small appetizer type food and found everything to be pretty good. I can't speak as to the quality of the entrees, but I can imagine they would be just as good as the apps.

The facility itself was nice, with well thought out decor. Very nice Bar area.

Servers were great and very attentive. We will be returning to have dinner some time in the near future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MATTfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baci Grill also viewed

 

Been to Baci Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing