We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm a regular Marriott customer and although everything was fine and the front desk person was lovely, you can tell they tried to turn an old hotel into a Courtyard. They are not quite there yet. Bed & pillows were comfy but the rest of the room furnishings were fairly outdated. No coffee in the lobby as offered. Won't return here.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ada B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 205 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Short review here...the rooms are solid and what you would expect from a Courtyard site. The lobby was redone over the past year and it is much improved with a speedy check-in process.

I would say that the one downer is that they now have a "restaurant" like eating area and there is no continental or hot continental breakfast. Considering the price of the room was north of $100 per night, I expected at least granola bars or fruit. The only thing they had was coffee, and it wasn't very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drobjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

On our way to Connecticut prior to booking here we stayed at a Spring Hill by Marriot near Scranton PA. This hotel was very nice hence the reason we booked at this Marriot. However, there is no comparison at all. This Marriot was a little outdated and all for about the same price as the Spring Hill Marriot. Staff was friendly and our stay decent. I just don’t understand how you can charge the same and get less. I have read in some other reviews about some upgrades to this hotel. If you plan on staying here ask for an updated room or shop around first before booking.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjplmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Courtyard Hartford Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments related to your recent stay at our hotel. I wanted to post a response and thank you for recognizing the friendliness of our associates. I’m extremely proud of my team and I think TripAdvisor members have come to expect nothing short of excellent service from our Team.

I also wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that I read all the comments and reviews on TripAdvisor and use the feedback to make changes and continuously improve the quality of the experience that we provide to our guests. I have to admit that I was disappointed to read that we didn’t meet your expectations and that you didn’t find our hotel to be a good fit. However I will take the information you’ve provided and share it with my team. If you wish to reach out to me directly at the hotel to further discuss your experience, I would love the opportunity to speak with you.

Steve Matiatos,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We used the Marriott Courtyard for its convenience to our wedding venue. When we first visited the courtyard they were under construction and was told that they would be finished by the time our event was here. They not only were finished with the construction but everything look like it was sparkling. What a nice surprise. Also, we had close to 100 people stay at the courtyard under our wedding block.and there was not one complaint about anything. I thought that the arrival of 100 guests was going to be a bit hairy but again, the staff checked everyone in swift and professional manner with no glitches. We also choose to have a breakfast buffet for our guests the next morning and again everything ran smoothly and the food was great.

I would definitely recommend the Marriott Courtyard in Cromwell, Ct. to anyone staying in this area. Thanks to all the staff for your efforts and professionalism.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff here are always friendly and very helpful. I've been staying here for about a year now. It's a Courtyard so you know what you're getting. Plus they always look after me well. Special mention goes to Kareem & Sara

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thurgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Even though I was in Cromwell to see family, I also needed to accomplish a critical task for my job on my laptop that would require many hours sitting at the desk in the hotel room. When I initially sat down at the desk, I found that the desk chair would not adjust any higher. I am tall, so found sitting at that level uncomfortable, not only for my legs but also because I had to reach UP to my laptop on the table (I don't know how shorter people handle that part of it.)
I spoke to the lady from Housekeeping, thinking maybe we could switch my chair with one from an vacant room. She said she would talk to her supervisor.
About 10 minutes later, there was a knock on my door; it was "Nick" from Engineering. I told him the problem, he checked the chair and said it was at it's highest setting and he said he thought all the chairs were the same. He would be back after doing some checking.
Again, it was only about 10 minutes and he was back, rolling a black net-backed office chair. He said he had borrowed it from a "short" co-worker. He asked when I'd be checking out so he could come and pick the chair up when I was finished.
I was VERY impressed with his creativity and resourcefulness!
I've stayed at your hotel a few times in the past few years, but it had been about 2 years since my last stay. I was very impressed by your renovations.
Only one negative comment; on Friday morning, I worked out in your exercise room, came down and got a complimentary coffee from your lobby. On Saturday morning, I repeated the routine and found the coffee pots gone. I was told that you had discontinued the complimentary coffee as you were no longer using Marriott brand. My option was
Starbucks - and expensive Starbucks! I'm sorry you have made that decision.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here three nights when visiting family in the area. The room was large and comfortable. We have traveled all over the world and I tend to judge hotels/motels by the pillows and towels. The pillows were great, the towels adequate. We were not pleased by the sheets and covers on our kingsize bed. The sheets were not of the quality one expects from a Marriott, the cover was too small for the bed. The lobby was large, had a snack bar with tables, chairs and couches. I was impressed with the staff, they were welcoming and helpful. I was disappointed that the hotel didn't provide a continental breakfast, but since we know the area we went to the diner across the highway. We would stay here again when visiting family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
504 reviews
4.5 mi away
Inn at Middletown
Inn at Middletown
#1 of 3 in Middletown
396 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hartford South/Glastonbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Rocky Hill
5.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hartford Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hartford Cromwell

Address: 4 Sebethe Dr, Cromwell, CT 06416-1015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Cromwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range: $141 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hartford Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott hotel in Cromwell is the perfect hotel when visiting Cromwell, Hartford and surrounding Central CT towns like Middletown, Berlin, and Rocky Hill. Located midway between Boston and New York and convenient to Bradley Airport, our hotel is a hub for corporate, group and leisure travelers in the Hartford area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Hartford Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell Hotel Cromwell
Courtyard Cromwell
Cromwell Marriott
Cromwell Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing