We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cromwell
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Great Staff!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Professional, caring staff! Checked into the hotel -- only to find that I had made my reservations for the wrong night. Karen Hendricks at the front desk didn't blink an eye -- and was able to get me a room for that night. However, I'd originally booked my room using a special Priceline rate. So, I figured I was going to lose that rate at the very least. However, Karen did some quick research and was able to keep my rate the same. She didn't have to do that -- but she put in the extra effort and it meant a lot to me. Thank you!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for recognizing Karen H as going above and beyond to take care of your reservation. She was thrilled to get the feedback and we appreciate the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    124
    105
    54
    31
See reviews for
133
47
31
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Methuen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Once again we have stayed at the Crowned Plaza Hotel Hartford in Cromwelll, CT. We were there for the FurFright convention. As usual, the hotel staff was fantastic and the hotel itself was great. Lots of parking. Looking forward to returning in 2014.

Green Features: This hotel recycles. There were recycle containers in our hotel room (as well as a regular trash basket) and there were many recycle containers throughout the hotel. I wish more hotels would do this.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Awesome! Thanks for your comments and we are thrilled you had a great time at the convention! We look forward to hosting the event again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
559 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here with friends for a convention over the past week.


Upon arrival I noticed how small the hotel was, but that wasnt a issue. There was plenty of parking. The entrance of the hotel is nice, the basic hotel feel.

The room was my major issue. It was so small for a two bed room. The bathroom was even SMALLER. Many people have also reviewed such on T.A. The bathroom was uncomfortable to do anything in because of its size. When you sit down on the (already tiny sized toilet) your legs where about to hit the tub in front of you. Towels in the bathroom where rough as well, and the tub took a long time for the water to drain, so it was clogged up.

We had the room that was suppost to go to the "pool" area, but our sliding glass door was broken and would not open, so we where stuck with a glass door right next to our windows to hear the loud pool noises and couldn't even go out that way ourselfs.

Besides the tiny and outdated room, we had just one issue with staff. The male bar tender who waited on us, (or rather ignored us the entire time to the point of us walking away) was so shocking. The bar was very busy with people from the convention, but we where skipped so many times we got mad and left.

The public bathrooms by the ballrooms and conventions room where kept very clean, which is a plus. For as how many people where staying at the convention, the overall hotel was kept clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hgtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations in all areas but are happy you enjoyed yourself at the Fur Fright Convention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for a midweek golf get together with friends. Picked hotel as it was a central location. Checking was flawless, was upgraded to concierge level. Manager on duty Ira was outstanding. Bartender Joe was friendly and handles a full bar easily. Ladies in concierge lounge were welcoming. It was like sitting in you own living room. Two nights sleep and the bed was so comfortable, no back ache! Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for the great comments about our staff and our "comfortable" beds. We hope the good nights sleep helped your golf game!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
197 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Parking was ample, and the check-in process went smoothly. They offer a welcome gift to IHG Rewards members, and there are fresh cookies in the lobby. The lobby itself is nice, but smaller than it appears in some pictures. There is a ton of meeting and convention space, which was being used by a few companies and a wedding while I was staying there. The common areas of the hotel are a little bit outdated, but you don't spend much time there anyway. The pool and fitness center seemed nice, and there is an on-site restaurant and bar.

The room itself was very nice. It was bright, modern, and clean. That's all you can really ask for. The bathroom was a tad bit small, but what do you really need a huge bathroom for anyway. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning the room, and also respected the do not disturb sign on the door. Overall, it was an enjoyable stay.

Also, the hotel is right off the highway. It is close to many stores and restaurants, and only about a 20 minute drive away from the Durham Fair.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Great review! Thanks for you feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here with a conference. Not bad, but not great either. My rom was ok, but the AC unit was really loud. Conference facilities were ok, but could use a serious updating. Food was mediocre. In general this was ok, but could be a lot better. One good point was that the bar had decent food, and the bartenders were good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLDorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for your comments. I will share the "OK not Great" comments with my staff in an effort to turn that into a "Great not OK" stay next time you are with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The first time I approached the hotel, I passed it by (because their sign by the road was so small). Being in the lane farthest right, I found myself in the turn lane for the interstate and couldn't avoid having to take it, so I had to drive the interstate until I could find my way back around to the hotel. Once at the hotel, I was given a really nice room, but it was the farthest from the elevator they could assign me (there were NO porters). Still, I wasn't put off; I merely dialed from that room and asked if they could help and reassign me to a room closer to the elevator. Not only did she do that, the desk clerk, Rosie (a real gem!), came up and took my things herself to a lovely room closer to the elevator. It felt very private also, being in a small alcove away from other rooms. I experienced a problem connecting to their Wi-Fi, and again a desk clerk, I believe perhaps Libby, assisted me easily. When I checked out, the last problem I experienced was a wedding party blocking the entire entrance/exit with their revelry (a traditional Hindu celebration) the morning I left. Perhaps the hotel should not inconvenience all their guests and instead, have the wedding party in a private area. I had to push my luggage on the rack out a side exit and around the hotel to my vehicle in the front of the hotel, quite a long detour. Still with these problems, I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others. Certainly, I ran into things that were not common with the exception of there being no porters. It was a great value; the staff was friendly and very accommodating; and the place was very clean. They also have a business center to print your flight information if necessary.

Room Tip: Rooms 216 and 217 are the best out-of-the-way rooms in a small alcove!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are thrilled you had such a positive experience with Rosie and Libby. Sorry you had trouble finding us...we're right off I-91 at exit 21 and then turn left. Hope to have you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 4 in Cromwell
81 reviews
4.3 mi away
Inn at Middletown
Inn at Middletown
#1 of 3 in Middletown
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
#2 of 5 in Rocky Hill
370 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cromwell

Property: Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Address: 100 Berlin Rd, Cromwell, CT 06416-2603 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Cromwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located off I-91 and Route 9, the Radisson Hotel Cromwell is close to both Middletown and Hartford, CT. Just 12 miles South of Hartford, and 6 miles North of Middletown, the Radisson Hotel Cromwell: Indoor Pool & Solarium, Full Service Restaurant & Lounge, CT "Green Lodging" Certified" hotels. Room service Fitness Center. The friendly and knowledgeable staff of the Radisson Hotel Cromwell Hotel near Hartford, CT will go out of their way to make sure that your trip to the Hartford area is successful. Our convenient location to Brownstone Exploration & Discovery Park, Lyman Orchards, Connecticut Science Center and Rentschler Field. The Radisson Hotel Cromwell invites you to experience full-service hospitality at its best in the Hartford area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Carlson, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cromwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing