We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cromwell
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK Place To Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for a swim meet at Wesleyan University, very convenient to the pool and right off 91. Hotel frontage faces a wooded area away from the road which is nice, but it had does some oddities like 7 foot ceilings in the hallways and bathrooms (which are very tight as well), and charges $1.50 for a Keurig cup of coffee. Pool is nice in a glass domed area with a ample-sized fitness center. The elevator was super-fast to close which was annoying while trying to get in it with luggage in tow. The lobby area is spacious and nicely decorated, but the hotel is tired/dated in some areas. Kudos for the recycling baskets in room and lobby!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maximus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for your review. We feel it is neccessary to charge for coffee in the lobby due to the number of meeting attendees we service but we do provide complimentary coffee in the guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    118
    99
    51
    26
See reviews for
124
43
29
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The lobby looks nice. The front desk staff were nice. The rest of the hotel was shabby, dated and moist. A damp smell pervades throughout the halls and rooms. Our room's a/c works to cool, but does nothing to reduce humidity. Clammy and damp sheets, towels, rugs. The double room had tiny full sized beds and no fridge. After leaving the room early in the morning, we returned in the afternoon to an unclean space. We asked the staff to tidy the room at 3:45 when we'd be leaving again, explaining we'd be resting until then. Half hour and not near 3:45, we woke to knocking on the door to clean the room. No free coffee in the lobby. No breakfast included. We took a chance at staying here instead of Marriott where we are members. We won't do that again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We apologize that your experience with dampness was not up to your standards. It was not up to ours as well. It was challenging to compete with Mother Nature as she delivered 4 consecutive heat waves in the month of July. We are looking forward to cooler temps with less humidity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cromwell hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here on a recent trip to Middletown, Ct. for work. It was close where I needed to go to for work and was close to the highways that I needed to access. The rooms were very clean and quiet. There were also several restaurants nearby (Ruby Tuesday's, Chili's, 99 ) which were easy to get to from the hotel. Overall this was a very good hotel and I will plan on staying here again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in June of 2013.....fourth floor....elevator broke all 3 days. It was an on and off situation, mostly off. My sister is 73 and we had to make sure we had all we needed so we didn't have to walk up and down the stairs. I should have just checked out but we were there when the golf tournament was on and prices were ridiculous. They don't even have free coffee in the lobby. No apologies for the broken elevator other than a note on the elevator doors....."Sorry for the inconvenience"

Room Tip: Just make sure the elevators work. They worked when we got there but then they broke down a few hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stella b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are sorry that we had elevator issues during your stay. We had our service company come in everyday until they could correct the problem. We do understand the inconveniences it casued and apologize for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel overall was very good. Value was great! Our room was nice and cool during an intense heat wave of July 2013. That's very good. The AC was creating somewhat of a musty smell though. It wasn't overwhelming but it was noticeable. The bed was a king and was incredibly comfortable. Furnishings were great. Our view was pretty bad - but I wasn't staying there for the view. It was right off a major highway and easy to get to. The bathroom layout was good- two sinks, one in the bathroom, one outside, that's convenient. The shower paneling wasn't in the best shape, not bad, but could have used a little attention. Also I found that when you pulled the knob to switch from faucet to shower, water continued to come out the faucet AND the shower.

Now what really pulls this review towards GREAT is the restaurant in the hotel itself called Sheffield's. Prices were totally fair. Service was fantastic, and the food was really, really good! So pleased with the dining experience! I would actually go there just to eat! Had the BBQ wings and they were great! Also had a spinach salad and that was incredibly good.

Overall because of the fair prices, I would stay again!

Green Features: There was definitely green information posted throughout the room, helped you decide on choosing green practices.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Our staff in the restaurant were thrilled that you had a great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good hotel, wouldn't recommend it for a long stay. Beds are a little firmer then I like, so take that with a grain of salt. Right off the highway and easy to deal with traveling around Connecticut or New England in general. Hotel is very clean, staff is very nice, and I've never had a bad time staying there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTMurdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for your great comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and the fact that the staff is very nice. We're glad you've never had a bad time staying here and hope to have you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, ME
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Short stay while on college visits. Very convenient to the highway and good amenities, nothing flashy. Clean rooms, only minor complaint is the headroom in the shower. I am tall but it is tight, even for someone only around 6' tall. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for the "Nice" review! We look forward to having you back on your next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
4.3 mi away
Inn at Middletown
Inn at Middletown
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 4 in Cromwell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
#2 of 5 in Rocky Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Rocky Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cromwell

Property: Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Address: 100 Berlin Rd, Cromwell, CT 06416-2603 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Cromwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located off I-91 and Route 9, the Radisson Hotel Cromwell is close to both Middletown and Hartford, CT. Just 12 miles South of Hartford, and 6 miles North of Middletown, the Radisson Hotel Cromwell: Indoor Pool & Solarium, Full Service Restaurant & Lounge, CT "Green Lodging" Certified" hotels. Room service Fitness Center. The friendly and knowledgeable staff of the Radisson Hotel Cromwell Hotel near Hartford, CT will go out of their way to make sure that your trip to the Hartford area is successful. Our convenient location to Brownstone Exploration & Discovery Park, Lyman Orchards, Connecticut Science Center and Rentschler Field. The Radisson Hotel Cromwell invites you to experience full-service hospitality at its best in the Hartford area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Carlson, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cromwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing