We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for a short stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Hotel Cromwell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cromwell
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good hotel, wouldn't recommend it for a long stay. Beds are a little firmer then I like, so take that with a grain of salt. Right off the highway and easy to deal with traveling around Connecticut or New England in general. Hotel is very clean, staff is very nice, and I've never had a bad time staying there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTMurdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for your great comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and the fact that the staff is very nice. We're glad you've never had a bad time staying here and hope to have you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    115
    98
    51
    26
See reviews for
122
43
28
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, ME
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Short stay while on college visits. Very convenient to the highway and good amenities, nothing flashy. Clean rooms, only minor complaint is the headroom in the shower. I am tall but it is tight, even for someone only around 6' tall. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for the "Nice" review! We look forward to having you back on your next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The lobby and pool (with a beautiful overhead dome) were lovely, but the hallways and room were uncomfortable. The hallways were narrow, cramped, and winding, and the second floor hallway smelled terrible, like a cat's litterbox or something equally awful. The hotel is a confusing labyrinth, difficult to navigate and easy to get lost in. The room was small and not very comfortable, although the bed itself was comfortable enough to sleep in. There was no refrigerator, and the coffee maker was crammed awkwardly on the desk. The bathroom was tiny and cramped, and the toilet looked old and dirty and didn't flush well. The bathtub also appeared old and dirty. I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless these things don't bother you, and if you'd rather spend a lot of time in the pool instead of your room. The pool and hot tub were wonderful and the only saving grace in this place.
There was no free breakfast, and the breakfast buffet (consisting of all the things that should be in a free continental breakfast) cost $10.50 per person.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are pleased there were aspects of your stay that you thought were awesome! We apologize you wanted a complimentary breakfast but that is not usually provided in a full service hotel. We continue to focus on our deficiencies but are very proud of our committment to excellent customer service, Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cromwell hotels

Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed and was impressed on the size of the room we got. Nice King bed. When we pulled up there were four or five people standing right outside the entrance smoking so you had to walk through that. When we walked in it was nicely kept went to the room and saw the size and loved it. The bathroom seemed like it needed a little updating though. The walls also seemed thin cause we could here our neighbors talking and tv. We also were up listening to people running up and down the hall being inconsiderate of everyone else that was staying.

Room Tip: Pick a room Away from the elevators.
See more room tips
Green Features: We are very pleased to see the hotel with recycling.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with the size of the guest room and king size bed. We will work to correct the issues you felt were below standard. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

we stayed here for a wedding in a wedding block for 1 night (friday night to sat.) - $109/night rate, standard king non-smoking room. this was okay, when checking online for other deals the cheapest i found for this hotel was about $119/night.

not very sound-proof rooms at all, i could hear every noise outside my room. at certain points it seemed like people were knocking on my door but they weren't!

nice comfortable bed.

weak water pressure in shower. nice toiletries provided tho.

the bar near the lobby was fine except it closed at maybe 11pm or midnight, so then we were all stuck just hanging out front/outside with our drinks.

we didn't get to try any of the food or use the amenities.

hotel is right off the 1-95 exit, so it's easy to find when driving.

Room Tip: maybe at end of hall? so to minimize hearing hallway noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sk8ter1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and will incoporate them in an effort to improve our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Building and furnishings are a bit tired, but acceptable. Pool a bit grimy on the bottom. Exercise equipment is poor quality and not well-maintained, but that's what I've come to expect in mid-price hotels. Check in and room cleaning were efficient and friendly. This hotel has a large banquet facility, which can lead on weekends to a greater likelihood of noisy fellow guests with noisy children. Our neighbors were a bit noisy (not to the point that I would complain) until about 9 PM, but then presumably went to their affair and I didn't hear them return. Walls between rooms not that well soundproofed.

Overall, I would go again when I need to be in Cromwell if I don't see a better alternative available. I think the Marriott Courtyard is slightly nicer and not much more expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Couple_from_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Sorry to hear you did not have an awesome experience and felt we were just a bit better than ok. We will review your comments with the staff in an effort to make improvements, in fact we have plans to re-paint the bottom of the pool in the very near future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bass River, ma
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had stayed at the hotel years ago when it was The Lord Cromwell and was happy to hear that it had turned into a Crowne Plaza years later. When a friend invited me to a convention I was curious to see what they had done to the place. The desk clerk was very helpful when we arrived, pointing us in the right direction to our room and then the room where the convention was to be held. It was a bit confusing getting to our room but we eventually figured it out. The bed was pretty uncomfortable,being very hard and a little lumpy. We had dinner at the restaurant downstairs and it was superb! The food was different and expertly prepared. The next morning, we had the buffet breakfast which was also very good, with a nice variety of healthy choices. The staff of the hotel was extremely conscientious - getting us ice when we didn't even ask....just little touches like that. Our convention was catered by the hotel for the next 2 nights and the meals were excellent with a good selection. Once again, the staff was wonderful. We had thought that we would use the pool but it just didn't look clean enough for us to take a dip, so we decided against it. For the most part, the only thing that would stop us from going back would be the beds. I don't think anyone had a great sleep due to the firmness of the mattress.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gigicape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cromwell, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for your review! We host many large convenventions every year and are pleased that you had a positive experience with the food and service. I will relay your comments regarding the mattres to our executive housekeeper to see if we can make some improvements in that area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
4.2 mi away
Inn at Middletown
Inn at Middletown
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 4 in Cromwell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
#3 of 5 in Rocky Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cromwell

Property: Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Address: 100 Berlin Rd, Cromwell, CT 06416-2603 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Cromwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located off I-91 and Route 9, the Radisson Hotel Cromwell is close to both Middletown and Hartford, CT. Just 12 miles South of Hartford, and 6 miles North of Middletown, the Radisson Hotel Cromwell: Indoor Pool & Solarium, Full Service Restaurant & Lounge, CT "Green Lodging" Certified" hotels. Room service Fitness Center. The friendly and knowledgeable staff of the Radisson Hotel Cromwell Hotel near Hartford, CT will go out of their way to make sure that your trip to the Hartford area is successful. Our convenient location to Brownstone Exploration & Discovery Park, Lyman Orchards, Connecticut Science Center and Rentschler Field. The Radisson Hotel Cromwell invites you to experience full-service hospitality at its best in the Hartford area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cromwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing