We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Slice of the Country” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cornwall Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Cornwall Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cornwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Nice Slice of the Country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We found this place while looking at a return trip to Kent, CT for a weekend getaway from NYC. We needed a dog friendly place and this is one of two we found. Its a nice little spot. Nothing extravagant but it serves its purpose as a home away from home. Mark & Stacy are very friendly and welcoming. There is a nice pool out back that we never used (too busy hiking & going to wineries). The breakfast in the morning is a light continental. It serves its purpose to get you up and going. We loved the granola! All in all we will probably return here when we visit the area again. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyccouple2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Manager at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Cornwall Inn. We appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Stacey and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    30
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
49
54
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
330 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

After looking at the higher priced alternative inns/B&B's we settled on the Cornwall Inn for a two-night stay in the Litchfield Hills. Our connecting rooms (there were 3 of us) in the Lodge were adequate, if you don't count the bathroom sliding doors that tended to trap us in the bathroom. We finally figured out how to slide them without that happening. With the exception of the group of loud obnoxious "louts" who checked in the second night we were there, our stay was OK. Just minor things that needed tending - hooks to hang clothes & travel bags in the bathrooms, a grab bar in the tub to hang wet bathing suits since the shower curtain bar held wet towels, easier access to clothes pegs in one room and some type of closet at all in the second room - just minor inconveniences. We never saw the owners and did our own self-check-in. Two different onsite mangers handled the continental breakfast buffet - light but enough. If you're a BIG breakfast eater, this is not the place for you. Overall, just an OK experience, given the Inn was still not cheap, but then nothing in this area is budget-friendly.

Room Tip: We didn't see the rooms in the main house. The Lodge rooms are small but adequate. Get #6, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are sorry we did not get to meet you during your stay. It was one of the rare times we were able to get away with our children. We took our son to his first concert (FUN.) and our daughter to see Taylor Swift for their birthdays. Hopefully our assistant, Diane, was accommodating and gracious. Thank you for your comments about the room. We appreciate the suggestions and will make the necessary changes. The "rowdy" type is not typically drawn to our family-owned country inn, I am very sorry this was not the case during your second night. Thanks again for the feedback and Safe Travels.
Regards, Stacey and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My third visit to the Cornwall Inn, and just as good as the last two. Mark and Stacy make you feel like honored houseguests. I'd actually never noticed the great space out back -- would be nice for a picnic or just to hang out and read. It's a great place to stay if you are going to canoe or fish on the Housatonic, or hike in the area. And on a hot day, it's great to jump in the pool. Good simple breakfast and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for returning to the Cornwall Inn--we are happy you chose to stay with us on several occasions. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we appreciate the kind words. Hope to see you again. Regards, Stacey and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I LOVED the Cornwall Inn...I found it to be a little slice of heaven in the beautiful, peaceful and serene Litchfield Hills. The breakfast was wonderful, and Stacey and Mark were most accommodating. We only spent one night there, but plan on going back again soon. I was bummed I forgot my bathing suit because the pool looked so refreshing! This is the ULTIMATE place to relax, unplug and unwind. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you again soon---and don't forget your swimsuit :) Regards, Stacey and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We absolutely love this place. This is our 3rd time staying here. Mark and Stacey, the inn keepers are great. There's such a warm feel to this inn. There's a plentiful continental breakfast offered every morning in the company of wonderful people. It's quiet, welcoming, relaxing , and most importantly pet friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie6428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful comment. We also enjoy seeing the two of you AND the pooches! Regards, Stacey and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a wonderful 4 night stay with perfect weather. Room 5 was spacious and very comfortable. Night road traffic did not affect us at all. (We live under an airport approach pattern.) Mark and Stacey were wonderful hosts. Mark had good suggestions for hiking trails and area restaurants. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. Bed was very comfortable. Inn was very quiet at night. Could not hear any other guests. The only drawback was that the hot water took a long time to come up.

Room Tip: Search for websites that show every room and have good descriptions of the rooms. That way you know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roderick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your favorable comments! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your positive experience at the Cornwall Inn. We hope to see you again soon!
Regards, Stacey and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

There couldn't be a more scenic area to escape than the hills around the Cornwall Inn. Our accommodations were lovely and the breakfast was more than adequate. I liked how the innkeepers provide plenty of area activity info. One reservation is that the price felt a little high.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hertzjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We are happy you enjoyed your visit to the area. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Regards, Stacey and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
10.1 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
13.3 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Mayflower Grace
The Mayflower Grace
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Amselhaus
The Amselhaus
#1 of 1 in Cornwall Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
5.8 mi away
Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast
14.7 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Inn

Property: The Cornwall Inn
Address: 270 Kent Road, Cornwall, CT 06754
Location: United States > Connecticut > Cornwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornwall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned country inn and restaurant on three lush acres, including an outdoor pool, hot tub and rambling stream, echoes the spirit of old New England. The thirteen nicely appointed guest rooms all have private bath, cable tv, a/c, telephone and free wireless access. The inn's restaurant offers classic country cuisine and the friendly tavern is a popular place for local folks to gather. A warm welcome always awaits you at the Cornwall Inn & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Cornwall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing