We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family feel...”
Review of The Cornwall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cornwall Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cornwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice family feel...”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a really nice stay at the Cornwall Inn. We took the kids to ski at Mohawk Mt. It was very close to the ski site. The room was cozy..., with a very New England feel. We did not hear ANY noise whatsoever and if our alarm clocks did not ring, I think we may have slept all day. The breakfast was perfect...fruit salad, croissants, cereals, granola, and hard boiled eggs. OUr kids liked the little room with board games. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We appreciate your comments. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    33
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
50
57
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We took advantage of the long weekend to do some family skiing at Mohawk Mountain and decided to stay at the Cornwall Inn. We made the right choice, everything was perfect. The rooms were clean and comfortable (we had 2 rooms). Loved the country charm – very warm and inviting. No complaints on the beds, they were just fine. The water pressure in the shower was good (for both rooms). Two thumbs up on the breakfast, especially the coffee and granola. We have picky eaters and we were pleased that there was something for everyone. Inn is very convenient to the mountain and, once again, no complaints – skiing was great. Innkeepers, Mark and Stacey, were friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful time and they outdid themselves. The kids have already asked when are we going again. Thank you for a terrific time – see you again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for you kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in the Suite Marigold which was truly the worst place I have ever paid to stay in my life - and I have traveled extensively worldwide in my 52 years. Everything from the lumpy, hard, worn out beds to the 1960's blow dryer, to the barely there breakfast were a big disappointment. The sheets were old, worn and discolored brown flannel, impossible to tell if they were truly clean. The bathroom was barely functional, with a shower so tiny my 13 year old could barely fit in with no water pressure. The highlight of the stay was getting woken up at 6:00 am by the many vehicles speeding by both sides of the rooms, which were only a few feet away from the road. Walking across the floor of the rooms gave me the disconcerting feeling that I was going to fall through, as they were loose to the point of being unstable. We picked this inn based on the positive reviews written by others, and are scratching our heads as to how they could paint such a different picture than what we experienced. The room did not have an alarm clock nor a wake up service, although I guess the traffic noise made them unnecessary since nobody could have slept past 6:00 am.

Room Tip: I would advise you to find another inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJDEVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I must say, this does not come as a surprise...we, like most experienced innkeepers, can often tell immediately when a guest will not be pleased regardless of how hard one tries. Never-the-less, it is helpful to hear specific complaints which I will gladly address individually.

You are correct in stating that this room is close to the road. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about that other than hang heavy duty, sound blocking drapes which we have done. The use of the word "traffic" is relative, as many of our guests are from the NYC area and do not find the road noise from a two lane country street disturbing. However, based on your feedback I will make sure I state on our website that this is NOT the room for light sleepers.

The comment about the "barely there breakfast" was a surprise as the couple you were traveling with went out of their way to compliment our breakfast. In fact, one comment was "Wow, what a nice spread...this was worth waiting for." We believe our free home made continental breakfast is significantly better than most and will continue to proudly serve it to our guests.

I assure you that the flannel sheets were clean and purchased just last season and you absolutely were in no danger walking on our historic wide plank wood floors. After reading your comment, I checked the water pressure which seemed much better than adequate.

This is the first we are hearing a complaint about the bed. We plan to sleep in the Suite to assess its comfort. The issue will be addressed immediately, if needed. Thank you for stating your opinion prompting us to research these issues and make our own determination.

Safe travels,
Stacey and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairway, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Due to frequent travel for a friend's illness, I have stayed at the Cornwall Inn many times this year. Stacey and Mark run a friendly, competent, always comfortable establishment. I am always glad to arrive at the Inn after a day of travel - and enjoy Stacey and Mark's wonderful hospitality throughout my visit. The Cornwall Inn stays at the top of my list!

Room Tip: Tell Stacey what you want (view - a little extra room - pretty furnishings) and she'll find the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you, Martha, for your kind comment! Guests like you make innkeeping a pleasure! Warm Regards, Stacey and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Dear Stacey and Mark,
It sure was wonderful staying at your lovely Inn a few weeks ago.
Stacey, I'll always remember how delighted I was to find out that you had
hot water/heat and WIFI available during that nasty storm, Sandy.
Much continued success...! The breakfast was yummy...terrific granola!
What a lovely area...maybe some day we'll be your neighbors!
Best,
Jan and Mike Bass.....Duncan, our Scottie also found a new home away from
home!! Regards to Leo :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 896Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Many thanks Jan, Mike and Duncan! We are happy that we were able to accommodate you. Your positive attitude cheered up others dealing with the same stresses. Thank you for sharing your positive experience and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Stacey and Mark...and Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had an excellent working weekend! Stacey and Mark were very accomodating-food was superb- a gourmet dinner in a quaint and relaxing dining room and a cozy room that felt like home. Peaceful surroundings,clean and crisp sheets and a good night sleep. One night felt like a vacation!
~ Cathee Stegall, Program Director, Memory Matters Hilton Head Sc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you Cathee for taking the time to write the pleasant review! We enjoyed meeting you all and wish you the very best with the good work you do. Warm Regards, Stacey and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Cornwall Inn is stupendous! We stayed there for my birthday weekend so we could enjoy the local charm, hiking trails and gorgeous surroundings. This Inn was everything we could have asked for and more! The rooms were cozy, classic and clean, the grounds are beautiful and well kept, the Inn keepers are helpful and friendly, the pool and hottub is a perfect touch and the breakfast is fantastic boosting local granola, jam, fruit and much more! Perfect classic B&B with wonderful amenities like a high power shower head (who doesnt hate the water that dribbles out of most hotel showers!)!! Would stay here again anytime. Dont miss an opportunity to enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa Squires B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
14.7 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
90 reviews
10.1 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
13.3 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
2.2 mi away
The Amselhaus
The Amselhaus
#1 of 1 in Cornwall Bridge
13 reviews
11.0 mi away
Interlaken Inn
Interlaken Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Inn

Property: The Cornwall Inn
Address: 270 Kent Rd, Cornwall, CT 06754-1602
Location: United States > Connecticut > Cornwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornwall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned country inn and restaurant on three lush acres, including an outdoor pool, hot tub and rambling stream, echoes the spirit of old New England. The thirteen nicely appointed guest rooms all have private bath, cable tv, a/c, telephone and free wireless access. The inn's restaurant offers classic country cuisine and the friendly tavern is a popular place for local folks to gather. A warm welcome always awaits you at the Cornwall Inn & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cornwall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing