We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect B & B Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Ranked #1 of 1 Colebrook B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“The Perfect B & B Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

This is a gorgeous early 20th Century summer "Cottage" (most of us would call it a mansion) on 23 beautifully manicured grounds with large free-form in ground swimming pool, in Colebrook, CT, close to the Yale summer music school and festival in Norfolk. The location is also reasonable distance from Tanglewood and other cultural attractions of the southern Berkshires. The hosts, Mike and Stella Somers are lively, engaging and hospitable. Mike, a former investment banker, is also a gourmet chef and makes delicious homemade gravlax which he serves at their sumptuous breakfast. The house is filled with marvelous architectural detail, tastefully decorated and furnished. This is an idea spot for a romantic restful getaway, just two plus hours from New York City. Tremendous value! We would recommend it

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manorlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    4
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
48
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Rock Hall this week and loved it! The house is absolutely beautiful, the decorating is outstanding. The house is full of things to do, fitness room, movie room, billiard room, game room, etc. Our bedroom was just spectacular and the grounds are beautiful as well, great pool, tennis courts and walking trail.
Michael, the owner, was one of the nicest hosts we've ever encountered at an inn. He made us great cocktails and the best guacamole we've ever had! We really enjoyed talking with him, he's very interesting.
Awesome breakfast, again, the best we've ever had at an inn. Healthy and delicious.
A stay at this inn is a must!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katedocmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

The term "bed and breakfast" does not do Rock Hall justice. It would be like calling Times Square as merely the intersection of Broadway and 7th Avenue. Especially the bed in Chamber 2, which is so soft and luxurious and the breakfast that is meticulously prepared in a grand dining room under a tremendous chandelier. Our group of women chose Rock Hall to celebrate our birthdays. Our expectations were far exceeded by the scale and luxury of the estate. We had the entire run of the mansion, from the billiard room to the screening room, complete with old school style popcorn and candy. The fireplace is so large that we all fit INSIDE! What a perfect setting for late afternoon cocktails and snacks lovingly prepared by the innkeepers. Stella and Michael made sure that every aspect of our stay was perfect, from our restaurant selections to spa appointments. Take your girlfriends and plan your visit to Rock Hall for a girls' weekend you will never forget! I am hoping to visit again in the summer to take advantage of the inground, heated pool and hot tub plus tennis courts. What B&B has all this??? And no hotel has this level of personal service! Book your rooms and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ultimate42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

We have had the pleasure of staying at Rock Hall for both summer and winter weekends. Everything said previously is true and more. The accommodations are luxurious and tastefully done, the grounds are magnificent summer and winter, the service provided by hosts Michael and Stella both professional and friendly, and the breakfast unique and delicious. Whether you want to swim, ski, antique, shop in Berkshires, watch a movie in the in-house theater room, listen to music in town or just sit by the fire and read, Rock Hall is a great place to stay. For everything Rock Hall offers, it is priced fairly compared to most other comparable places.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Many times when I have stayed in bed and breakfasts I have been disappointed by the overly cute atmosphere. This a historic property that has been lovingly restored with a restrained hand. Run quite professionally, the welcome is warm but I did not feel like I was staying n someones house. furniture, sheets, amenities were all of the highest quality. We feel asleep to a roaring fire at our feet in our spacious room. I'd love to see the extensive grounds and pool in the warmer months!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonmwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

My boyfriend and I visited 19 Rock Hall Road last winter. We had seen a review on NY1 and afterward decided on a spur of the moment getaway weekend. Firstly, the house is beautiful. We were greeted by owners Stella and Michael, a lovely couple from NYC, who proceeded to give us a tour of the home. Their attention to detail in the restoration of this home was amazing and you could see their passion. Our room was so comfortable, the house enormous - we watched a movie in the private screening room, played in the billiard room and generally felt at home.

Stella and Michael were super helpful in exploring the surrounding area, especially directing us to some amazing restaurants. We had to leave pretty early Sunday morning, so we didn't stay for breakfast, but Stella sent us off with a boxed lunch. So sweet! And included in that boxed lunch was THE most amazing gravlox sandwich (Michael's specialty). Ridiculously good. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nn510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

Our jaws dropped when we pulled up in front of Stella and Michael's home. It is stately yet inviting. Being mid-November, most of the trees had lost their leaves, but it was still absolutely gorgeous. The pool was closed for the season, too (all the more reason to come back in the summer!). The hosts are both wonderful, and instantly made us feel welcome. We went for a walk through the woods and picked apples from the orchard on the property, then followed the directions we were given to a local waterfall that was beautiful. After that we headed to Infinity Hall for dinner (a short drive of less than 5 or 10 miles and I highly recommend it!) and then back to the property to watch a movie in the little movie room. Michael was heading back into the city and Stella was meeting friends for dinner, so we were entrusted with their lovely home. It felt like we were staying at a family friend's house. We stayed in Chamber 2, which you must stay in if it's available. We were shown the other rooms and they were nice, but there was no complarison. This was apparently the hosts' bedroom before the property was converted and it must have been hard for them to give it up! Looking up at the sky from the porch off of our room we were able to see more stores than I've ever seen in my life. The bathroom is to die for. The shower has a crazy 'Saw'-looking contraption that is supposed to spray water on you from every angle. It sounds more appealing than it actually is though. Instead, we soaked in the huge claw-footed tub. There are three-way mirrors in the bathroom that are a nice touch. Breakfast was perfect, consisting of housemade gravlax, a variety of cheeses, Greek yogurt, fresh fruit and breads, olives, homemade granola, and a breakfast strata, plus more. This was my boyfriend's first experience at a bed & breakfast and I told him he cannot let this be the standard. This stay was unlike any other B&B experience I've had and I loved every second of it (though it is a bit on the pricey side). But I can't rave enough about our stay. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redmenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colebrook
14.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
17.6 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
20.6 mi away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.1 mi away
Manor House
Manor House
#3 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Cornwall Inn
The Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Hall Luxe Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hall Luxe Lodging

Property: Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Address: 19 Rockhall Rd, PO Box 312, Colebrook, CT 06021-3918
Location: United States > Connecticut > Colebrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Colebrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rock Hall Luxe Lodging 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rock Hall Luxe Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging Hotel Colebrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing