We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rock Hall rocks.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock Hall Luxe Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Ranked #1 of 1 Colebrook B&B and Inns
Hartford
2 reviews
“Rock Hall rocks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

My partner and I visited Rock Hall for our all-too-brief honeymoon. This happened in the wake of the recent October snow storm, so power was out in the region. Despite the outage, Rock Hall's generator and heat were happily humming. There were a few inconveniences because of the lack of power (no TV, stereo, etc.), but this forced us to give up the electronic comforts and sink into the comfy furniture with a book, play some of the games and puzzles available to guests, and poke around their intriguing gift shop. Michael did not allow the lack of electricity to slow him down in the kitchen producing two wonderful breakfasts (and he threw in a dinner because the area restaurants were closed due to the storm). Chamber #2 was elegant, well-appointed and had a fantastic bathroom. We look forward to another visit in the future!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaycuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    4
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
48
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

My wife and I just got back from a wonderful honeymoon at Rock Hall. We found the area and the innkeepers to be amazingly charming but even more stunning were the estate and grounds. No detail was overlooked during our visit in Chamber 2. The bathroom featured a spectacular marble shower and a two person, claw foot tub. The room itself was beautifully appointed with a beautiful king-size bed and luxurious sheets. Breakfast each morning pleased both of our very different tastes with an abundance of fruit, granola, yogurt and gourmet coffee for myself and eggs, toast and lox for my sweetie. Michael and Stella would check in on our breakfast, offer to make us another style of eggs and refresh everything before leaving us to our devices. They were always available to offer a day-trip idea, restaurant reservation or a story but never intruded on our solitude. We had a spectacular stay and hope to make our visits a tradition!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I were looking forward to a relaxing, upscale week-end at Rock Hall. The reviews I had read were great and my husband and I love country inns and b and b's.

Unfortunately, our experience was greatly below our expectations. The grounds and the pool area are very nice. The inn itself should not be classified as 4 or 5 star. Upon arrival, Michael acted disinterested and did not have the wine and cheese that were supposed to waiting for us upon arrival. Darcy was very nice and showed us to our room. The room was large with a lovely view of the pool area. The bathroom, however, was extremely small and not well-maintained. The small white floor tiles were broken and left a whole in the floor.
The claw foot tub should have been reglazed and the shower curtain needed replacement. I do find a charm in other homes, however, this bathroom was definitely not up to a supposedly distinctive inns expectations. In fact, it was a liability.

Michael was not a good host. He spent most of his time sitting in the library area monopolizing the large sofa in front of the television. When he was not in there, then his daughter was. We did not feel welcome in that room. I had to ask where the scrabble game was and Michael brought it to us from a mixed up stacked of seemingly very old games.
Before I even used the game, I went in the bathroom, wet a towel and thoroughly wiped off
the box cover and then painstakingly cleaned the plastic parts of the board. My towel was filthy when done. I ask you, how can someone believe it to acceptable to present that game
in such condition to a guest?

At one point, Michael asked us if we would like wine or cheese. We said yes. It never came,
He got distracted with something else.

The first night we slept with the windows open, but the second night we asked where the air-conditioner was located. Stella explained that you had to press a button out in the hall and it controlled 2 bedrooms. I find it curious that we were never given an explanation of this upon check-in or where we might find other needed items on the property, as well.

Most odd to us was that our door did not lock.All bedrooms could not be locked upon leaving them. And supposedly, you could only lock your door if you were in the room. That meant, that while we were out, anyone could have access to our room. In addition, there was no safe in the room either. Also, we were unable to lock the door when we were in the room because the lock did not function properly. The owners were very non-chalant about this.

When we went to relax at the pool for the first time, my husband had to go back in to find Michael because we did not know where to find the pool towels. It took quite a few minutes before Michael came out.

Our package included a one hour mixology class, which was never acknowleged by the owners. We did not bother asking about it because by that point we felt it was not going to be worthwhile. By that time, our expectations had dropped quite low.

Breakfast was fine, but basically the same each day except for a change in frittata. I think the hosts should be aware that not everyone would enjoy a bok choy frittata or smoked fish for breakfast. The artisan bread was nice, but no muffins or breakfast pastry. Fresh fruit was available as well. I did find it odd that Stella, Michael's wife, ate with us both days. I would have liked to talk more openly to the other guests without the host always being there. Timing of the food service was not professional either.

The house has a great charm. And Stella had done a lovely job with what restorations she had chosen to do. The wallpaper was especially exquisite in the dining room.

However, what was called a movie room was a good idea but not completely thought out.
The dvd's were not current and they were all piled up like a mess on a small table.
It is commom sense to put them on a shelf and categorize them either alphabetically or by type. No guest wants to spend their time going through dusty old movies. Also, you had to go out of the room, to stick the movie in the player...a very small old player that was hooked up haphazardly. Needless to say, we did not use this room.

The game room was a nice thought but then again this idea was not thought out completely either. The room was on the top floor on what on could have considered being an attic space in the past.. Ceilings were low and the room was dark. And a piece of the exercise
equipment was broken.

We were greatly disappointed in our stay and would not return again. This is not an upscale retreat and certainly the service was sub-par. The facility needed some repair and needed the clutter to be picked up as well as a good dusting.

Not everyone can be an innkeeper, and clearly Stella and Michael have a way to good. Stella continually namedropped places she had travelled and wonderful hotels she had stayed in. She talked about her large nyc apartment which has since been sold. If someone
so well-travelled and worldly thinks that Rock Hall is run well and superb, then she has missed the boat. I think it was an idea they had that was not totally thought through.

I only writet this so that others may not be disappointed. There are many other inns and b&b's that are spectacular to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhall, Owner at Rock Hall Luxe Lodging, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
At Rock Hall, we take every care to provide exceptional service for each guest. We wish the guests would have reached out to us so we could have addressed any needs or concerns. We strive for each guest experience to be outstanding and sincerely regret that these guests felt their visit was anything less than extraordinary.

As a property listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this Mizner designed c.1912 estate has been meticulously restored as accurately as possible. We are in the process of sourcing the original tiles that match the ones used for that guest's bathroom to fix a thin line of absent tile covered by a small Persian area rug. We are taking care of this last bit of restoration shortly..


There is a thermostat in the hallway that provides temperature controls for Chambers 1 and 2. The game room is very brightly lit and all switches work on dimmers.

Our rooms lock from the inside, and since our guest’s stay, safes have been placed in guest rooms.

Our gourmet breakfast features a wide array of carefully selected items including: fresh fruits, vegetables and cheeses, homemade vegetarian-friendly frittatas, gourmet preserves, local honey, walnuts, fresh tomatoes, Italian olives, local handmade
organic granola, strained low-fat Greek yogurt, a variety of artisanal breads, our famous house-cured gravlax and/or house-smoked trout or blue fish and often amazing biscotti from Arthur Avenue in the Bronx or a sinful dark chocolate bread sourced locally.. We are committed to growing our own or buying local and organic whenever possible.

It is true that we don't serve muffins or breakfast pastries (to the appreciation of many travel writers that have visited Rock Hall.) In addition, we accommodate guests with dietary restrictions such as glucose intolerance, lactose intolerance, nut and wheat allergies, Diabetese and other medical conditions as well as guests that observe specific dietary laws, in this way every Rock Hall guest can enjoy themselves to the fullest.

Our movie/media room is a favorite spot to watch movie classics as well as recent flicks; it has a large screen, reproduction turn-of-the-century stadium seating, complimentary candy and if Michael is in the vicinity - fresh popcorn! Guests are welcome to bring their own G-R rated dvd favorites to enjoy. Our DVD selections are not in alphabetical order.

Since Rock Hall is an enormous 10,000 square foot mansion, Michael can often be found in the Library so that he can advise guests and be centrally located. When Michael is busy elsewhere our daughter or I try to "man" the Library. Our Library is outfitted with two full-size sofas and four chairs so there is ample seating and guests can often be found reading, engaged in conversation or engrossed in the latest tennis match or World Series game while Michael is checking guests in or out, making dinner reservations or offering suggestions regarding the myriad of activities there are to enjoy in the area.

We look forward to providing exceptional hospitality to each and every Rock Hall guest.

Sincerely,
Stella and Michael Somers
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

My hubby and I splurged on this lovely B&B for our first year anniversary and, wow, are we glad we did. Michael and Stella are the consummate hosts - they were the icing on the cake of this our fantastic getaway. It's tough to pick just a few highlights, but since I can't write a novel here, I'll just have to try.

- BREAKFAST. Seriously the most amazing spread. Huge fruit selection, homemade quiche, yogurt, granola, homemade lox, bagels, cream cheese, home-smoked trout...we wanted to eat every meal there.
- As part of a retreat package they will arrange a couples massage in your room, which was incredibly, dizzyingly good.
- The lagoon(ish) pool with hot tub was perfect for lounging by.
- Grass tennis courts! Very fun.
- Beautiful room and comfy bed. A rather small TV, but we had too much to do to really be interested in it.
- The house, the grounds, the pride of ownership - it was all just achingly gorgeous.
- I mean, everything, really. I wouldn't have changed a thing!

Mike and Stella welcomed us as if we were close friends who were guests in their home - we hated that we had to leave. I hope to be able to make it (at least!) an annual tradition!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spanish_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We just returned earlier today from a wonderful weekend staycation at Rock Hall. Upon entering the meticulously manicured grounds, we knew that this would be a trip to remember. We were very impressed with our large room (#1), from the high end toiletries to the view of Rock Hall's serene pool area to the cool claw foot bath tub. The huge house offers some fun amenities - we especially enjoyed the movie room which was equipped with two rows of theater seats, a huge tv, DVDs, and <gasp> a popcorn maker. The wife was in heaven. Although we didn't get to enjoy this time around, when we are back we will certainly make use of the beautiful pool table on the second floor, and game room on the third floor. On the morning of our departure,we borrowed two bikes. The bikes were great, but my conditioning was not. So ours was a brief ride on Route 44.

We ordered massages, and the massage therapists set up shop right in our room,and were waiting for us after breakfast! Amazing.

The surrounding area is fun,and we kept ourselves occupied peeking around the many antique shops, and eating at two fun pubby style restaurants recommended to us by Michael. We also checked out a flea market housed in an old barn, about 30 minutes away.

Delicious breakfast with fresh fruit,smoked salmon/trout, and an egg dish prepared each morning. We especially enjoyed talking politics, family, religion and current events with Michael, Stella, and the other guests.

Wholeheartedly recommend Rock Hall to anyone seeking a fun time in the Berkshires, with good food, great hosts, and a plethora of on-site activities/amenities. We hope to return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johndumey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary - and we were not disappointed. Rock Hall was such an impressive estate - and Michael and Stella were excellent hosts. We stayed in room #4 - and it was the most charming room - and very clean. The bathroom looked new, and was also very clean (and I'm very picky when it comes to bathrooms). Breakfast was also wonderful - we had a wonderful time and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalLuvs2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield county, ct
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We are very discerning travelers and have high standards for our accommodations and food. Rock Hall is 5 stars all the way - the lodge is magnificent in every way. When you first drive up, you see that this is an old estate being brought back to its glory. The attention to detail in the architecture and landscape has been preserved and accentuated by the innkeepers, who have added their own touches of interesting and eclectic treasures that they have collected over the years. The rooms are very large and each has character and detail that make them charming.

But, the most outstanding part of the experience is the people. We met the owner, Michael, and the assistant manager, Darcy, upon our arrival and they immediately made us feel welcome. They are genuine and helpful in pointing out all things to do both at the inn and in surrounding towns. They are sophisticated, but not the least bit pretentious, and they seem genuinely concerned with making their guests welcome and comfortable.

We were celebrating my husband's birthday and Rock Hall provided the perfect escape. When we arrived, Michael greeted us and offered us a delicious welcome of cheese and cocktails. He then suggested a great local restaurant that was right on the mark. The next day, he and Darcy served a fantastic breakfast of fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, freshly made eggs, gravlax, smoked trout, fresh OJ - the whole nine yards. When one guest mentioned that he was not a big fan of eggs, Michael made sure to serve french toast the next day for everyone - and it was outstanding.

We had an in-room couples message that was excellent - very nice staff, well trained and really helped us get into a relaxed mode for a nice Saturday evening out.

If all that was not enough, Rock Hall also has a really cool 3rd floor "playscape" with everything from mini-movie theater (popcorn and candy on hand), to exercise room with machines and weights, to game rooms with billiards, ping pong, fussball, wii and a (free) pinball machine - I think us 40somethings found the pinball machine to be the blast from the past!

Saturday evening, Michael invited us to a complimentary mixology class and although we couldn't stay very long (we had dinner reservations - see below), he invited us for a quick stop in the kitchen where he concocted this delicious watermelon margarita that we did not want to leave (along with phenomenal guacamole). Meanwhile, Darcy was working along side him making sure that everyone had what they needed and was happy and content - WE WERE!!!!!

As my husband and I are "foodies" , we took Michael's suggestion and went about 1/2 hour away to The Inn on the Green - highly highly highly recommend - it is the equivalent of a 26 Zagat rating by NYC standards. Sophisticated cuisine with good service and romantic ambience. Indulge in the tasting menu - it is worth it.

Really, we cannot say enough good things about our weekend at Rock Hall. We made new friends of Michael, Darcy and the guests and we can't wait to return (we need more time to play games as well as explore more of the Berkshires). Do not miss this gem of a lodge and make your reservations today!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funtootravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colebrook
17.6 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
14.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
20.7 mi away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
5.6 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.1 mi away
Manor House
Manor House
#3 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Hall Luxe Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hall Luxe Lodging

Property: Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Address: 19 Rockhall Rd, PO Box 312, Colebrook, CT 06021-3918
Location: United States > Connecticut > Colebrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Colebrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rock Hall Luxe Lodging 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your Rock Hall Luxe Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging Hotel Colebrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing