We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sandwiches”
Review of The Plum Tomato

The Plum Tomato
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Food SO GOOD, It's Addictive. Please Eat Responsibly.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Sandwiches”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our dellicious Brickini sandwiches, sauces and seasonings were perfect. What wasn't perfect was the wait time for our order to arrive, we wondered if our server forgot to place our order and were ready to leave. Parking was right outside the door, no stairs to contend with; wheelchair and walker friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trainbuff9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin W, Manager at The Plum Tomato, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoy our sandwiches, but sorry to hear that the service was lacking. We have had a large staff changeover recently and are working hard to rebuild and train a new staff of people. While we see so much potential in their abilities, we recognize that there is always room for improvement. Thank you for your comment; it helps us to pinpoint our weaknesses so that we can serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have eaten here countless times and have never been disappointed. It's a family pizza atmosphere, but with a rustic touch. The staff is friendly and the prices extremely reasonable. My favorite thing is the Mad Cow sandwich on Fatti bread. Absolutely delicious!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OtterTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin W, Manager at The Plum Tomato, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We love to hear when people have positive experiences at our establishment. And yes, the Mad Cow on Fatti bread is an excellent choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely eat here if you like pizza”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I have been fortunate enough to have eaten pizza in many places in the world including Italy. This pizza is excellent, well worth a road trip

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmazingYogaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin W, Manager at The Plum Tomato, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our pizza and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were passing by and decided to order take-out.
We are always searching for a great pizza and..... we might have found it !!
The thin crust was perfectly baked, the sauce was full of flavor ( we order extra , extra sauce wherever we go), the toppings were plentiful. = Delicious!!
We certainly plan to return soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BamTgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin W, Manager at The Plum Tomato, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear that you had a good first experience with us and we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Solid Pizza”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place and Illiano's are the only game in town. They have a real wood oven. Worth a try. Sometimes a little heavy on the cheese. I ask for 1/2 the cheese sometimes.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FroggyBumBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin W, Manager at The Plum Tomato, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate your business as well as your constructive criticism!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plum Tomato also viewed

Colchester, Mystic Country
Colchester, Mystic Country
 
Colchester, Mystic Country
Colchester, Mystic Country
 
Colchester, Mystic Country
Colchester, Mystic Country
 

Been to The Plum Tomato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing