We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Donuts”
Review of Beach Donut Shop

Beach Donut Shop
Ranked #1 of 3 Bakeries in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Donuts”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

After seeing this place on a list of top donuts in the country, I knew I had to make the trip to Clinton to try for myself. Arriving at 1pm on a Sunday, I knew the pickings would be slimmer than if I had arrived in the morning but was still pleased when I walked in. The store is no frills as you would expect, and I ordered a glaze and jelly donut. The woman behind the counter was very friendly and chatty and offered to make me a new donut if I wanted one that they didn't have the one I wanted available. Lots of samples to try from as well. Donuts were fresh and worth the trip if you are looking for high-quality and great tasting donuts, at a reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    14
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great donuts!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We have been there a couple of times. This is the best donut shop I've been to. The donuts are fresh and they have a large variety of donuts to choose from. Each time we have been there the staff has been very friendly and helpful. This is the place to go if you are looking for a great donut!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best donuts and egg sandwiches ”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I am addicted to their bacon egg and cheese sandwich on a cheddar bagel - the finest sandwich I have ever had anywhere. And not just on one visit - consistently over time. A joy to eat. Doesn't help me in terms of my fitness regimen but you only live once and it's so good I don't care... I have narrated every detail of this sandwich to friends - I will not here - my enthusiasm is real in this..

The donuts are outstanding - nice to have these guys so close by. We always bring some home for the freezer.

Helpful?
Thank AlexFunTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
“Good donuts but owner/manager is horrible”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Excellent product but the owner needs some customer service skills. Better yet just make the donuts and don't interact with people at all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael.malchiodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the donuts but staff needs to be nicer.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great donuts but consistently unfriendly at counter. We have been going to Beach Donut since they were in their old location next door. It was always a friendly atmosphere. They are now selling a fine product but they need to do so with a smile and make the customer feel special. I'll try it one more time but after that I'll head toward Guilford in search of Cronuts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer06443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Donut Shop also viewed

 

Been to Beach Donut Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing