We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
3 Liberty Green B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Clinton B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2007

We went to 3 Liberty for our Honey Moon, and had the best time. It was our first stay in a B & B. We were a little nervous being in such tight space, but the innkeepers, Nancy and Kevin , made us feel at ease right away.

The breakfast was amazing and huge. The conversation at the table was very pleasant and they recomended so many things for us to do.There are so many little towns to drive around and look at amazing sights.

We never had any housekeeping issues, everything was clean as could be.

We actually got to meet Helen, the new innkeeper I hear, and She was friendly and helpful as well. We are actually going back there for our 1 year anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank narn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for 3 Liberty Green B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2007

We had a wonderful stay last weekend at 3 Liberty Green. Glen is the brand new owner of the place, and he's transitioning in with Helen's expert guidance. Glen was so friendly and helpful in suggesting things to do and places to eat around town (try Bill's for a fun dinner on the Marina). Our room was gorgeous and we felt comfortable just hanging out on the porch or enjoying the cookies and port in the lounge room. And the breakfast was delicious!!!

The B&B is in a good location for Clinton, near some antique marts and walking distance (maybe a half mile) from kayaking and the docks. If you stay in Clinton, I highly recommend a fresh lobster roll on the docks at the end of Commerce Street. There are picnic tables and a friendly local grilling up sausages and lobsters rolls- so delicious!

Clinton is a tiny town without a big downtown area, but there are a couple outlet malls about 10 minutes away by car and a nearby vineyard too. All in all, a relaxing getaway at a beautiful little place.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PandoraNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2007

Staff:
Wonderful and warm welcome from both Helen and Glenn. Very personal and helpful in communicating what there was to do in the area, as well as, how to get around.

Check-in: Allowed to check in early, no question.

Food: Helen is a chef, the food was incredible!!

Rooms: Immaculate!!!

Overall the new ownership went out of their way to makes us feel welcomed and made sure all of our needs were met. We would definately stay at the 3 Liberty Green B&B again, and will recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wendemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

In anticipation of our weekend get-a-way, I contacted numerous Inns and B&Bs in the shoreline area. It was after several telephone conversations with the innkeepers at 3 Liberty Green that we chose it as our place to stay. They appeared warm and accommodating and despite the negative reviews we had read on trip advisor, we were willing to give it a try. We are certainly glad that we did! It is a beautiful home and the innkeepers were attentive, available, and very personable. The home is in the process of being sold and the new innkeeper will be a welcome addition to the shoreline community as a member and business owner. Having had a wonderful stay, it saddened us to think that the only reviews posted had been negative. Our breakfast was delicious and the conversation was easy and we would recommend this B&B to our family and friends.

Thank you to Helen and Glenn for a restful weekend and wonderful stay. Best of luck.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank liketotravelCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2006

My husband and I also had a rather odd stay just this past weekend at three Liberty Green.

Our confirmation said that we could arrive earlier than three which we did, and were told upon arrival by the inn keeper that she would not let us in until three or maybe three thirty because she was going to be out getting her hair done. So we went off into the pouring rain and waited to return in three hours.

Upon checking in we were asked to sign an agreement that we would not drink red wine in our room, and were given a lecture about respecting the other guests etc....as we were being shown to our room. Not exactly a warm welcome.

The Inn itself is beautiful, and the rooms were very clean, and beautifully appointed.

Breakfast on the first day, a bowl of scrambled eggs and sausage links left a lot to be desired. The Innkeeper and her husband did a poor job at keeping any kind of interesting conversation going over breakfast. They knew very little about the area we were going to be exploring, and kept turning the conversation to a lot of very personal information about the owner of the house, and incidents they have had with other guests recently including the person who just reviewed this inn before us. Not once did she ask us anything about our reasons for visiting the Clinton area, and when we mentioned that we were from Long Island, she made a few remarks about her one visit there which we took to be a little insulting, before talking at us about her family and what she was going to be getting her grandchildren over that the mall. She also hinted very heavily that she expected a tip for her services which seemed pretty unprofessional to us.

Upon return to our room Saturday evening, our bed was not made either, but the bathroom was cleaned.

Breakfast on Sunday was much better, but again, the conversation was turned to disparaging remarks about the woman who owns the house, and on this morning, she had other guests making similar remarks which my husband and I felt was wrong and certainly distasteful.
We could not get away from that table fast enough.

Overall, we felt that it is a shame that this place is being ruined the way that it is. We could have had a very nice time if the Innkeepers had a better idea on how one should treat a house guest.

My husband is an attorney, and I am a designer at an Engineering company. We travel frequently and have stayed at many Bed and breakfasts. We are relatively easy-going, and are always courteous house guests. We were really put off with the bad manners of the innkeepers, and very uncomfortable around them whenever we had to spend any time in the common areas of the house. It is a very small place, with just four rooms, so the way the innkeepers act when you are around really has a lot to do with the overall feeling that is generated from the place.

We learned from them that the Inn is presently for sale which is probably why the owner is not all that interested in the goings on at this point, but for the sake of it's reputation and her own, something should certainly be done before it is too late.

We could not reccommend this Inn to anyone based on our experience.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gastronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2006

We rented a "suite" comprised of a small bedroom and an adjacent sitting room with a futon, for $220 per night. After out first night at the B&B, the bed was not made. The inndeeper told us that we had left clothes on the bed and that they do not make beds if there is something on them. Hmm. There had been nothing on the bed. Shifting gears without blinking an eye, she told us that she did not do the rooms that day - her husband had and he did not make beds. There was no offer to make the bed at that point.

The attitude of the innkeepers was not welcoming: the front door was locked while we were sitting on the fron porch, breakfast was cold, there was much complaining about previous errant guests and neighbors, the wife was intrusive. There were also issues with using the futon - we were told there would be an extra charge of $30 for doing so!

Upon checking out, I raised the issue of the unmade bed. I got a list of complaints about being noisy. Hmm again. My husband and I are college professors with a combined total of 45 years of academic experience. My husband is also a church organist.
We never even turned on the TV! We are the quietest folks around.

In sum, having stayed in many B&Bs on both coasts, I would advise anyone considering staying at 3 Liberty Green to consider staying somewhere else.

We left a message for the owner regarding our experience, but have not received a response as of yet.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank zaichhik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fetterotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
8.7 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
734 reviews
4.8 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
5.7 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
675 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#2 of 5 in Madison
83 reviews
7.4 mi away
Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Liberty Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Liberty Green B&B

Address: 3 Liberty St, Liberty Green Historic District, Clinton, CT 06413-2411
Location: United States > Connecticut > Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clinton
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 Liberty Green B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This c. 1734 National Historic Register Connecticut bed and breakfast is a colonial charmer in Clinton, Connecticut, a quintessential New England shoreline village steeped in colonial history, beautiful harbors, rivers & beaches. Featuring four elegantly decorated & romantically furnished rooms, each with a canopy bed, 2-person jacuzzi, private bath, sitting area, cable TV, DVD, hi-speed wireless, & a delicious home-made breakfast! Come, enjoy our warm hospitality and make your stay an enjoyable & memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your 3 Liberty Green B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing