We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Vineyard, Good Wine but a little pricey”
Review of Chamard Vineyards

Chamard Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Lovely Vineyard, Good Wine but a little pricey”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Chamard Vineyards has a nice main building with tasting room and a small Bistro (menu and reservations are available online for the Bistro), a barn tasting area for larger groups - that often has live entertainment on the weekends, very nicely kept grounds, and a pond with water fountain. The tasting is a little pricey; $15 for 5 wines or $25 for 5 Estate Wines - but you do get to keep the glass. It provides a nice atmosphere for a fun afternoon adventure on the weekend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OSProfiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    54
    20
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great afternoon visit”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We decided on a whim to go on a visit to a winery. We picked Chamard for no paticular reason and had a wonderful afternoon. The wine tasting area was crowded but it was a great day and they were hosting a very large wedding. It was great sitting outside on the deck and taking in all the activities while sipping wine and admiring the beautiful grounds. We found the Merlot to be wonderful and have already looked to buy it locally. I thought the tasting was a little too expensive for what you got, but the staff was pleasant and everyone was having a great time. It has inspired us to visit more wineries so we will be able to compare but we will be visiting Chamard again soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hoops3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, CT
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Diner at Chamard Vineyard”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very friendly atmosphere at this modest CT vineyard with a good crowd walking around the grounds eating and drinking outside with live music. The indoor tasting room and dining room is a pleasant and casual . Very good menu, modest prices and excellent food presentation accompanied by a good selections of these modest wines.

Very good choice for lunch or dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardMalinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not just a winery, it's an event”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The grounds have gotten even more beautiful since I was last here and there is an expanded tasing area. They have added a separate "barn" for live music and now sell food to eat on the grounds or in the Bistro. We ate in the Bistro and the food was delicious. They have expanded their line of wines and now have a sparkling that is pretty darn good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank eamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Nice Afternoon Rest Stop”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The setting is one of the nicest you will find for a vineyard. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable. The wines are "good" to "better". We spent a Sunday afternoon there enjoying the hamburgers and watermelon with a couple of bottles of wine, one red and one white. We liked the white the best. The view from the terrace overlooking the lake is relaxing and makes for a wonderful afternoon break.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chamard Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Chamard Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing